Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Sept. 19, 2011

UI Press announces 2011 Iowa Poetry Prize winners

The University of Iowa Press has announced the winner of the 2011 Iowa Poetry Prize: Joseph Campana's "Natural Selections" and Kerri Webster's "Grand & Arsenal."

The Iowa Poetry Prize, one of the leading American poetry awards, is open to new as well as established poets. The collections by Campana and Webster will be published by the UI Press in the spring of 2012.

Campana (photo, right) teaches Renaissance literature at Rice University. His poems have appeared in Slate, the Kenyon Review, Poetry, Conjunctions, the Colorado Review and many other venues. His first book of poetry, "The Book of Faces," was published in 2005, and he is also the author of "The Pain of Reformation: Spenser, Vulnerability, and the Ethics of Masculinity," which will appear in 2012. He holds a doctorate from Cornell University.

Webster, who received her Master of Fine Arts degree from Indiana University, is the author of a previous full-length collection, "We Do Not Eat Our Hearts Alone," as well as two chapbooks: "Psalm Project" and "Rowing Through Fog." She has taught at Boise State University, was writer in residence at Washington University in St. Louis for four years, and she currently lives in her native Idaho.

The Iowa Poetry Prize was first awarded in 1990. Originally called the Edwin Ford Piper Poetry Award, the series was renamed with the 1993 award. Until 2001, the award honored only writers who had already published at least one book of poetry; the award is now open to new writers as well.

Books in this series have also won the James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets and the William Carlos Williams Award from the Poetry Society of America.

Recent winners of the Iowa Poetry Prize include "Cloud of Ink" by L. S. Klatt, "Unbeknownst" by Julie Hanson, "Like a Sea" by Samuel Amadon and "A Little Middle of the Night" by Molly Brodak.

Visit the UI Press website at

UI arts events are searchable on the UI Master Calendar: Exhibitions are searchable at To receive UI arts news by e-mail, go to, click on the link "Subscribe or Unsubscribe" and follow the instructions.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Allison Means, UI Press, Winston Barclay, UI News Services,