Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


University of Iowa News Release

March 25, 2011

Incoming freshmen named UI Presidential Scholars for 2011
(Student name) of (hometown) has been named a University of Iowa Presidential Scholar for 2011. The award is the most prestigious honor given to first-year students planning to attend the University of Iowa. (Name) is the (son/daughter) of (parent names).
Recipients were selected from a field of more than 1,000 applicants from all over the world. Presidential Scholarships are awarded on the basis of high school grade-point, college entrance exam scores, performance on the essay portion of the application, and high school or community service and leadership. The Presidential Scholarship package is worth $52,000 over four years.
EDITORS: This release indicates that a student from your readership area has been named a Presidential Scholar. Students have until May 1, 2011 to accept this offer. Students are listed by state and hometown, name and parents' names. Iowa students are listed first.

Ames: Anna Frankl, daughter, Gerald and Amy Frankl; Chang Liu, daughter, Hailiang Liu and Jun Pan
Audubon: Jay Blomme, son, Robert and Linda Blomme
Cedar Rapids: Ben Castle, son, Tom and Jenny Castle; Allison Kindig, daughter, James and Angela Kindig
Coralville: Bob Chen, son, Bin Chen and Haihong Ma
Council Bluffs: Kaitlin Madsen, daughter, Kris and Kristi Madsen
Des Moines: Alysa Olson, daughter, Lew and Carol Olson; Samuel Roeder, son, Phil Roeder and Mary Tabor
Indianola: David Gorsche, son, David and Julie Gorsche
Johnston: Alexander Hjelmaas, son, Joel and Rachele Hjelmaas
Urbandale: Michael Reinsvold son, Patrick and Yvonne Reinsvold; Sarah Mayer, daughter, Kent and Rebecca Mayer
Waterloo: Sumita Subramani, daughter, Mani and Sujatha Subramani
West Des Moines: Sraavya Undurty, daughter, Bhaskar and Ann Undurty

Aurora: Mackenzie Hasley, daughter, Thomas and Nancy Hasley
Caledonia: Navid Bahmanyar, son, Sina Bahmanyar and Farzaneh Farhangi
Chicago: Kelly Buchanan, daughter, John and Joan Buchanan
Dunlap: Melinda Martin, daughter, Edwin and Gladys Martin
Lemont: Clare Rogers, daughter, Neil and Patricia Rogers
Riverside: Benjamin Mitchell, son, Frederick and Donna Mitchell

Leawood: Amy Li, daughter, Dong Li and Yue Fei

Hopkinton: Allison Toth, daughter, Michael and Roberta Toth

Byron: Timothy Salazar, son, Ronald Salazar and Juline Thomley
Saint Michael: Austin Yantes, daughter, David and LeAnn Yantes

Chesterfield: Bayley Flint, daughter, Jerry and Dayna Flint

Franklin Lakes: Mallory Weiss, daughter, Marc Weiss and Barbara Kennedy-Weiss

Elk Point: Jenna Donnelly, daughter, Chuck and Lori Donnelly

Monroe: Michael Turek, son, James and Susan Turek
Onalaska: Sarah Strack, daughter, James and Diedre Strack
Waukesha: Nikhila Albert, daughter, Gomathi Albert and Albert Fernando

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: George McCrory, University News Services, 319-384-0012,