Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


July 1, 2011

At A Glance

Mason named vice chair of Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors

The Big Ten Conference office announced this week that Indiana University President Michael McRobbie will begin his second year as the chair of the Council of Presidents/Chancellors (COP/C) and will be joined on the COP/C Executive Committee for the 2011-12 academic year by University of Iowa President Sally Mason as vice chair, along with two past chairs: Michigan State University President Lou Anna K. Simon and Penn State University President Graham Spanier. These four will also serve as the Executive/Compensation Committee for the Big Ten Conference.

The Big Ten Conference was founded following a meeting of university presidents in 1895 and current presidents and chancellors have maintained a leadership position in its governance. The Council of Presidents/Chancellors and the Executive Committee are actively involved in setting the direction of the conference and its member institutions.

The ultimate authority and responsibility in Big Ten Conference governance is vested in the COP/C. All policy is decided at the COP/C level, including the annual budget for the conference office and all other financial matters.


Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center announces research seed grants

Four University of Iowa cancer researchers, three from the Carver College of Medicine and one from the College of Nursing, have each received a one-year, $30,000 American Cancer Society seed grant through the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Society at the UI.

The awards allow junior faculty members and independent research scientists to explore new ideas related to the cause, prevention and treatment of cancer.

Anne Ersig, Ph.D., assistant professor, Parent Child Family Area, College of Nursing, will study factors contributing to low screening rates among people at increased risk for colorectal cancer.

Melissa Fath, Ph.D., assistant research scientist and adjunct assistant professor of radiation oncology, will study the potential of using a combination of a high-fat, low-carbohydrate ketogenic diet with vitamin C to enhance therapy for pancreatic cancer.

Ryan Flynn, Ph.D., clinical assistant professor of radiation oncology, will investigate the use of rotating-shield intensity modulated brachytherapy as a way to improve radiation therapy for cervical cancer.

Tina Tootle, Ph.D., assistant professor of anatomy and cell biology, will investigate how hormones called prostaglandins regulate a structural protein called Fascin that has been implicated in various cancers including breast and colon cancer.

Learn more about the cancer center at


Rosenthal re-appointed as Bierring professor

University of Iowa Health Care leaders today announced the re-appointment of Nancy Rosenthal, M.D., as the Walter L. Bierring Professor of Clinical Education for another five year-term effective July 1.

The endowed position was created to recognize education provided by a faculty member in the clinical areas, primarily involving the training of house staff, residents and fellows. Paul Rothman, M.D., dean of the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, says Rosenthal's appointment recognizes her outstanding academic achievements, passion for teaching and numerous contributions to the UI Carver College of Medicine.

Rosenthal, a clinical professor of pathology, joined the UI faculty in 1998. She also serves as the assistant dean for student affairs and as section director for hemopathology. She earned a medical degree from University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 1983 and completed residency training and a hematopathology fellowship at University Hospitals of Cleveland and Case Western Reserve University.


UI Writers' Workshop alumni celebrate the program's 75th anniversary on blogs

In recognition of the 75th anniversary of the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, and in the wake of the recent reunion of workshop alumni and faculty, alumni of the program will publish a series of essays throughout the summer on a variety of literary and media blogs. Their writing will be gathered as it appears at

The participating blogs include A Public Space, the Awl, the Common, FSG's Work in Progress, GRANTA, the Iowa Review, the LA Review of Books, the Millions, N+1, the New Yorker's Book Bench, the Rumpus, Tin House and the WSJ's Speakeasy.

The alumni writers are Chris Adrian, Dan Beachy-Quick, Kevin Brockmeier, Alexander Chee, Charles D'Ambrosio, Jennifer DuBois, Tom Grimes, Allan Gurganus, Benjamin Hale, Leslie Jamison, Yiyun Li, Jack Livings, Anthony Marra, Stuart Nadler, Anna North, Peter Orner, Keija Parsinnen, Salvatore Scibona, David Shields, Maggie Shipstead, Curtis Sittenfeld, Justin Torres
and Antoine Wilson.

The first brief entry, "Playing House" by Leslie Jamison, which appeared in A Public Space, is now viewable at the tumblr site. For additional information contact




Photos for At A Glance items, if available, may be found at

Campus events are searchable on the UI Master Calendar:

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation to participate in a program, please contact the sponsoring department in advance.