Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Feb. 11, 2011

UI School of Music presents concert by Iowa Honor Band Feb. 26

The Iowa Honor Band, featuring some of the finest high school musicians from Iowa and Nebraska, will present a free performance, also featuring the University of Iowa Symphony Band, at 7 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 26, in the Opstad Auditorium at City High School in Iowa City.

The Iowa Honor Band Festival is an all-day event hosted by the UI School of Music, including rehearsals, masterclasses with UI faculty and a director’s clinic, culminating with the concert, conducted by Richard Mark Heidel, director of the UI band department (photo, left).

The Symphony Band will begin the program with "Strange Humors" by John Mackey, featuring UI percussion faculty member Daniel Moore (photo, right)on djembe; "Sleep" by Eric Whitacre; and Symphony No. 2 (Finale) by David Maslanka.

The 108-member Iowa Honor Band will perform "Ride" by Samuel Hazo, "Nimrod" from "Enigma Variations" by Edward Elgar, "Besame Mucho" by Consuelo Valesquez/Moon featuring Moore on marimba, "76 Trombones" from "The Music Man" by Meredith Willson featuring Hawkeye Marching Band Director Kevin Kastens as guest conductor and Fantasy on a Gaelic Hymnsong by David Holsinger.

Read bios of Heidel, Kastens and Moore at

The School of Music is a unit of the Division of Performing Arts in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

UI arts events are searchable on the UI Master Calendar: Exhibitions are searchable at To receive UI arts news by e-mail, go to and click the link "Subscribe or Unsubscribe," then follow the instructions.


* * *


AGWSR HIGH SCHOOL: Adrian Aswegen, bass clarinet; Samantha Heitland, flute; Kyle Lippert, trumpet; Nicole Thompson, percussion


ASSUMPTION HIGH SCHOOL: Edmundo Cadena, alto saxophone; Brian Delaney, percussion; Patrick Kakert, trumpet; Emma Simmons, clarinet; A.J. Skinner, euphonium

CEDAR RAPIDS JEFFERSON HIGH SCHOOL: David Frey, oboe; Adam Houk, trumpet; Ryan Jonas, tuba; Joe Mally, alto saxophone; Nate Weger, bass trombone

CEDAR RAPIDS KENNEDY HIGH SCHOOL: Michael Kegel, french horn

CENTRAL COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL: Emily Browne, clarinet; Chloe Myers, clarinet; Shawn Paarmann, percussion

CLEAR CREEK AMANA HIGH SCHOOL: Jill Burdick, bari saxophone; Chloe Chabal, string bass; Kris Howell, trombone; Mia Kühn, percussion; Casey Mattes, percussion; Lydia Raim, euphonium; Jessen Smith, trumpet

CLINTON HIGH SCHOOL: Jamison Brus, trombone; Katie Frandsen, clarinet; Austin Gluesing, bassoon; Quinn Gunderson, bass clarinet; Taylor Hicks, tuba; Taylor Koch, tenor saxophone; Rishi Kolusu, trumpet; Allison Reyhons, french horn; Juliana Rickerl, flute; Ryan Schroeder, percussion

COLO-NESCO HIGH SCHOOL: Ryan Chevalier, percussion

COUNCIL BLUFFS ABRAHAM LINCOLN HIGH SCHOOL: Katie Adams, clarinet; Ashley Cross, alto saxophone; Sabrina Fox, clarinet; Shannon Holmes, tenor saxophone; Natasha Konfrst, bass clarinet; Samantha Kunkle, french horn; Olivia Petersen, clarinet; Luke Thallas, trombone


DAVENPORT WEST HIGH SCHOOL: Kaitlyn Critchfield, bassoon; Gavin Wright, trumpet

DUBUQUE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL: Austin Baugh, french horn; Taylor Brandt, flute; Sarah Compton, flute; Catrina Foust, flute; Jon Fuller, trumpet; Mikayla Wickham, trumpet

DURANT HIGH SCHOOL: Ben Friederichs, bari saxophone; Andrew Merschman, tuba; Brooke Moeller, trumpet; Robert Novinski, trombone; Kyle Schlapkohl, euphonium

EAST MARSHALL HIGH SCHOOL: Gil Espinoza, clarinet

ENGLISH VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL: Benjamin Schauer, flute; Rachel Steffen, clarinet

FOREST CITY HIGH SCHOOL: Nikko Celindro, clarinet; Jonathan Happel, alto saxophone; Luke Kleveland, trumpet; Daniel Rust, trumpet

IOWA CITY HIGH SCHOOL: Olivia Ford, bassoon; Liz Gosse, flute; Sangwoo Han, flute; Monica Hemingway, clarinet; Sevon Huang, flute; Vivian Meade, oboe; Isabel Storey, clarinet

IOWA CITY WEST HIGH SCHOOL: Stephen Bork, tuba; Ji-Eun Choi, flute; Zora Hurst, bassoon; Eleni Katz, bassoon; Patience Klein, flute; Julia O'Donnell, clarinet; Hanky Song, flute; Darra Stuart, french horn; Linda Xiong, clarinet; Tong Yu, clarinet

LINN-MAR HIGH SCHOOL: Michael Detert, french horn

MARION HIGH SCHOOL: Avery Thomason, flute

PRAIRIE HIGH SCHOOL: Alicia Ekman, trumpet; Brooke Dixon, clarinet; Rylie Graham, piccolo; Kayla Illig, alto saxophone; Sean Koopman, tuba; Larissa McClenathan, contrabass clarinet; Mackenzie Moffitt, trombone; Phoebe Toczylowski, eb alto clarinet

STORM LAKE HIGH SCHOOL: Don Halverson, euphonium; Jesse Luedtke, trombone; Emma Morin, clarinet; Katherine Schulz, clarinet; Kelsey Struck, french horn

TRIPOLI HIGH SCHOOL: Bethanie Gronemeyer, oboe; Noah Gronemeyer, french horn


WESTERN DUBUQUE HIGH SCHOOL: Erin Clark, flute; Sarah Langel, alto saxophone Ryan Schmitt, trumpet; Larissa Wilming, clarinet


MILLARD SOUTH HIGH SCHOOL: Katelyn Dennis, alto saxophone

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Winston Barclay,