Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


UPDATE: For a list of students who have accepted offers for Presidential Scholarships, see

March 31, 2010

UI announces recipients of its Presidential Scholarship, valued at $52,000

(Student name) of (hometown) has been named a University of Iowa Presidential Scholar for 2010. The university’s most prestigious -- and most valuable -- award for incoming freshmen, the Presidential Scholarship is valued at $52,000 over four years.

(Student last name) is the (son/daughter) of (parent names).

Forty-one recipients were selected from a field of more than 1,000 applicants from all over the world, said Michael Barron, UI director of admissions and assistant provost for enrollment services. Presidential Scholarships are awarded on the basis of high school grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, performance on the essay portion of the application, and high school or community service and leadership.

The award, valued at $13,000 a year ($52,000 over four years), recognizes outstanding high school seniors based on excellence in academics, leadership, involvement and service. It represents about 85 percent of what an in-state Iowa student would pay for tuition, fees, room and board at the UI for four years.

"This is a remarkable group of students and I congratulate them on being offered our most prestigious scholarship based on academic merit. I'm honored to have them consider the University of Iowa as a destination for higher education," Barron said of the recipients.

Barron added that the UI is protecting funding for financial aid, including the Presidential Scholarships, despite the difficult financial environment. "We are committed to making the university affordable and accessible for all students who qualify for admission, and providing a high-quality student academic experience remains our highest priority," he said.

NOTE TO EDITORS: This release indicates that a student from your readership area has been named a Presidential Scholar. Students have until May 1, 2010 to accept this offer. Award recipients are below, listed alphabetically by state/hometown, with Iowa recipients listed first.

Cedar Falls: Ethan Budreau, son, Danny and Julie Budreau; Vincent Stigliani, son, William and Marie Stigliani
Cedar Rapids: Leah Barshinger, daughter, Carl and Karen Barshinger
Clear Lake:  Tanzeh Khan, daughter, Mohammed and Hosne Khan
Clive: Emily Merfeld, daughter, Mark and Julie Merfeld; Deborah Yu, daughter, Chien-Jung and Fenchin Yu
Coralville: Hee Jae Byun, daughter, Ki-Hong Byun and Chan Hee Byun Kim; Katherine Valde, daughter, Mike and Jill Valde; Sonya Zhu, daughter, Likang Zhu and Xiaohong Gao
Delhi: Teri Wilson, daughter, Doran and Patty Wilson
Des Moines: Cora Metrick-Chen, daughter, Phillip Chen and Lenore Metrick-Chen
Hinton: Daniel Grigsby, son, Alan and Laura Grigsby
Huxley: Andrew Rietgraf, son, Martin and Deanna Rietgraf
Indianola: Molly Richardson, daughter, Carole Richardson
Iowa City: Hang Gao, son, Yubo Gao and Yinghui Xu; Nathaniel Gier, son, Dave and Beth Gier; James O'Donnell, son, Michael and Judith O'Donnell
Johnston: Fred Shen, son, Bo and Hong Shen
Marion:  Alexander Starr, son, Larry and Diana Starr
Newton: Amanda Jones, daughter, Larry and Julie Jones
Riverdale: Jonelle Addabbo, daughter, Michael and Dorothy Addabbo
Story City: Ilsa DeWald, daughter, Richard DeWald and Jacinta McCarty
Stuart: Mia Siebrasse, daughter, Chris and Karen Siebrasse
Urbandale:  Patrick Albright, son, David and Megan Albright
Waukee: Nicholas Swingle, son, Halsey and Jacquelyn Swingle
West Des Moines: Allison Pestotnik, daughter, John Pestotnik and Cynthia Hewett

Thousand Oaks: Sasha Piergeorge, daughter, Jeffry and Carol Piergeorge

Greeley: Gabriel Goodman, son, Jeff and Ruth Goodman

Arlington Heights: Katherine Lazzara, daughter, John and Barbara Lazzara; Andrew Ly, son, Begonia Tai
Homer Glen: Lauren Lasko, daughter, Rick and Laura Lasko
Lake Zurich: Elizabeth Ridgway, daughter, Joseph and Valerie Ridgway
Rochester: Taylor Tabatabai, son, Fareed and Cara Tabatabai

Otsego: Patrick Sutherland-Alway, son, Daniel Alway and Jill Sutherland

Chanhassen: Laura Windmuller, daughter, Curt and Jill Windmuller
Prior Lake: Nicholas Rolston, son, John and Narmin Rolston
Saint Michael: Carah Kucharski, son, Matthew Kucharski and Ruth Kremer

Neosho: Lauren Gordon, daughter, Ely and Laura Gordon
St. Louis: Eliana Parnas, daughter, Barry Parnas and Susan Erlich

Loveland: Shannon Manley, daughter, Mark Manley and Annette Wick

Shenzhen Guangdong: Jin Jing, daughter, Pu Jin

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: George McCrory, 319-384-0012,