Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


June 11, 2010

Local students receive multicultural graduate recognition from UI

(NAME OF STUDENT), a recent University of Iowa graduate from (HOMETOWN), was recently named as a top multicultural graduate by the (NAME OF COLLEGE OR DEPARTMENT).

(STUDENT) received a (Student Leadership Award/Dean's Achievement Award) award during the Multicultural Graduation and Recognition Banquet May 13 in the Iowa Memorial Union. The event honored 28 graduating students of color who exemplified, promoted or contributed to cultural, racial or ethnic diversity.

The banquet was established in 1990 by Men’s Athletics, the Graduate College and Special Support Services. Held yearly on the Thursday preceding UI commencement ceremonies, the event has attracted the attention of graduating students, faculty, staff and community leaders from all cultural backgrounds.

At the banquet, each UI college recognized minority students who received professional, graduate and undergraduate degrees with Deans' Awards. Several UI departments gave Student Leadership Awards to students who demonstrated leadership outside the classroom.

For more information, visit

NOTE TO EDITORS: The following is a list of the students by their hometowns, the award, and the college or department giving the award. Iowa recipients are listed first.

Cedar Rapids: Ryan Stultz, Student Leadership Award, Iowa Bioscience Advantage
Columbus Junction: Gustavo Corona, Student Leadership Award, Center for Diversity and Enrichment
Denison: Sarita Anna Patnaik, Honors Program, Student Leadership Award
Des Moines: Esperanza Pintor, Martinez, College of Public Health
Cornelius Orr, College of Nursing, Dean's Achievement Award
Iowa City: Maria Teresita Barker, Women in Science and Engineering, Student Leadership Award
Christopher Clark II, Carver College of Medicine, Dean's Achievement Award
Elizabeth Krause, Office of Student Life, Student Leadership Award
William McBride, College of Dentistry, Dean's Achievement Award
Janee Weaver, College of Law, Dean's Achievement Award
Marshalltown: Lizeth Garcia, Center for Diversity & Enrichment, Student Leadership Award
Perry: Gloria Enriquez, Iowa Edge, Student Leadership Award
Postville: Heather McMullan, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Dean's Achievement Award
Washington: Camelia Rubalcada, Pomerantz Career Center, Student Leadership Award
Waterloo: RaShauna Applewhite, College of Pharmacy, Dean's Achievement Award

Chandler: Kris Miguel Cajipe, College of Engineering, Dean's Achievement Award

Chicago: Dominic Dagen, African-American Council, Student Leadership Award; Rafael Nunez, Office of Student Life, Student Leadership Award
Cicero: Jennifer Marie Delgado, Council on the Status of Latinos, Student Leadership Award
Peoria: Rohit Vuppuluri, University Housing, Student Leadership Award
Wheaton: Tony Moeaki, Athletics, Student Leadership Award

Suitland: Catharyn Turner II, College of Medicine, Dean's Achievement Award

Alliance: Theresa Heitz, Native American Council, Student Leadership Award
Omaha: Albert Chu, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, Dean's Achievement Award
Brigid Freymuller, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, Dean's Achievement Award
Karletta White, Office of Graduate Ethnic Inclusion, Student Leadership Award

Durham: Leslie Leathers, Graduate College, Dean's Achievement Award

Margaret Mwenda, College of Education, Dean's Achievement Award

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: Katherine Betts, Office of Student Life, 319-335-3059; George McCrory, University News Services, 319-384-0012,