Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Oct. 9, 2009

Local student receives 2009-10 computer science scholarship

(Student name) of (hometown), recently received a (dollar amount and scholarship/award name) for the 2009-10 academic year from the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Department of Computer Science.

The awards were given on the basis of merit.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Award recipients appear below, listed alphabetically by state/hometown, with Iowa recipients listed first.

Ames: David Naylor, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship; Geoff Roughton, $1,500 Principal Financial Group Foundation Scholarship.
Council Bluffs: Tyler Jensen, $1,500 John Deere Scholarship.
Des Moines: Andrew Couch, $1,500 Principal Financial Group Foundation Scholarship.
Dubuque: Austin Laugesen, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship.
Fort Madison: Molly Bartlett, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship.
Hillsboro: Kelsey Huebner, $1,500 John Deere Scholarship.
Iowa City: Zakir Durumeric, $1,500 Cerner Corporation Scholarship; Matthew Nutter, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship.
Mount Pleasant: Cuong Thai, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship.

Fayetteville: Natasha Bullock-Rest, $1,500 John Deere Scholarship.

Littleton: Peter Likarish, $1,500 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship.

Edwardsville: John Hughes, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship.

New York Mills: Yelena Mejova, $1,000 David Spang Award, $500 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship.

Viet Thuc Ha, $1,500 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: Catherine Till, Department of Computer Science, 319-335-0746,; Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,