Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Sept. 9, 2008

UI names computer science scholarship winners for 2008-09

(Name) of (hometown), a student at the University of Iowa, was recognized during a Sept. 4 College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Department of Computer Science awards ceremony as the winner of (dollar amount) (scholarship/award name) for the 2008-09 academic year.

The awards were given on the basis of merit.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Recipients from Iowa are listed first, followed by recipients from other states, as listed in alphabetical order.


David Naylor, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.

Cedar Rapids
Christopher Goettel, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.
Jordan Goettsche, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship, 2008-09.
Andrew Schmidt, $500 2007-08 Stan Walljasper Scholarship; and $500 Computer Science supplement to Walljasper Scholarship; *2008 graduate.

Council Bluffs
Tyler Jensen, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.

Eric Edstrom, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.
Jedediah Wendell, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship, 2008-09.

Austin Laugesen, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship, 2008-09.

Christopher Bush, $1,500 Cerner Corporation Scholarship, 2007-08. *2008 graduate

Benjamin Oakes, $1,000 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship, 2008-09.

Iowa City
Christopher Dibbern, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.
Zakir Durumeric, $1,000 Arthur Collins Scholarship, 2008-09.

Nathan Boettcher, $1,000 Principal Financial Group Foundation Scholarship, 2008-09.


Grady Payson, $1,000 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship, 2008-09.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, University News Services, 319-384-0009,; Writer: Caroline Jones