Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 19, 2008

College of Public Health students, faculty, staff honored

The University of Iowa College of Public Health honored the achievements of students, faculty and staff at its annual Graduation and Honors Dinner and Milford E. Barnes Awards Ceremony, held May 16.

Six students received Milford E. Barnes Awards for outstanding work in their areas of study. The awards are named for Milford Barnes, M.D., who served as professor and head of the UI Department of Hygiene and Preventive Medicine from 1930 to 1952.

The recipients were: Jessica Aguilar, Department of Health Management and Policy; Dominic Cirillo, Department of Epidemiology; Darrin Ott, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health; Trisha Schiltz, Department of Community and Behavioral Health; Qian Shi, Department of Biostatistics; and David Steward, Master of Public Health Program.

Josiah Alamu, a student in Department of Epidemiology, received the Dean's Achievement Award.

Among the college's faculty, Mary Aquilino, Ph.D., clinical associate professor of community and behavioral health and assistant dean and director of the Master of Public Health Degree Program, received the Faculty Service Award. James Torner, Ph.D., professor and head of epidemiology, was honored with the Faculty Research Award. Ying Zhang, Ph.D., associate professor of biostatistics, received the Faculty Teaching Award.

The Staff Research Award was given to Nancy Merideth, clinical director of the UI Lipid Research Clinic. The Staff Service Award was presented to Kay Shie, director of human resources for the College of Public Health.

Student, faculty and alumni inductees into the UI chapter of the Delta Omega Honor Society in Public Health also were recognized. Newly elected student members included Jessica Aguilar, Toni Biskup, Knute Carter, Gang Cheng, Dominic Cirillo, Erin Fitzharris, Bethany Lewis, Katherine Mellen, Trisha Schiltz, Ulrike Schultz and Kainan Sun.

Newly elected faculty members to the honor society were Gregory Gray, M.D., professor of epidemiology, and Patrick O'Shaughnessy, Ph.D., associate professor of occupational and environmental health.

Newly elected alumni members included Danelle Bickett-Weddle; William Clarke, Ph.D.; Thomas Cook, Ph.D.; James Leeper, Ph.D.; Samuel Levey, Ph.D.; Todd Linden; Chad Roy, Ph.D.; Mary Fran Sowers, Ph.D.; and Tanya Uden-Holman, Ph.D. Iowa State Representative Ro Foege was elected as an honorary member.

MEDIA CONTACT: Debra Venzke, College of Public Health Office of Communications and External Relations, 319-335-9647,