Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 9, 2008

Local student receives scholarship for entrepreneurialism

Twelve University of Iowa students were recently awarded scholarships given by the university's John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center to students who demonstrate an interest and ability in entrepreneurship.

Scholarship recipients are listed below by hometowns, with their field of study and the scholarship each received. Iowa students are listed first.


Cody Seeley, marketing, Clifford Baumback Scholarship

Austin Johnson, marketing and management, Oldorf Scholarship

Wei Bui, finance, Oldorf Scholarship

Council Bluffs
Amanda Crane, management, Oldorf Scholarship

Steven Christopher, accounting, Oldorf Scholarship

Iowa City
Samuel Kennen, marketing, Oldorf Scholarship

Jay Olberding, mechanical engineering, Oldorf Scholarship

Spirit Lake
Alex Schwarck, finance, Oldorf Scholarship

West Des Moines
Christopher Williams, communication studies, Oldorf Scholarship


Jared Garfield, management information systems, Ed Moldt Entrepreneurial Scholarship

Mt. Prospect
Jim Guarino, civil engineering, Ed Moldt Entrepreneurial Scholarship


John Werner, accounting and management, Oldorf Scholarship

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,