Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 27, 2008

UI honors student wins 2008 Truman Scholarship

A University of Iowa honors student who plans to pursue a career in foreign policy research has been named a 2008 Truman Scholar. Meredith DeBoom, a UI junior from Sibley, Iowa, is one of 65 students from 55 U.S. colleges and universities who have been selected for the award.

In announcing the winners, Madeleine K. Albright, Truman Scholarship Foundation president, noted that the award is given on the basis of leadership potential, intellectual ability and the likelihood of "making a difference."

DeBoom, who is majoring in political science in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) and international studies in CLAS and International Programs, hopes to specialize in energy and environmental policy in her future career. She is also a founding member of the UI Civic Analysis Network, a nonpartisan policy research center for the Iowa Legislature. She has served as a teaching assistant, a sorority president, a three-term student government senator, and a founding member of a campus community service group. DeBoom has studied foreign policy in Russia and is currently an intern in the EPA's Climate Change Division. A farm girl at heart, she said she enjoys golfing, making life to-do lists, and exploring the great outdoors.

The 65 Scholars were selected from among 595 candidates nominated by 283 colleges and universities. Each selection panel interviewed finalists from regions composed of three or four states and generally elected one scholar from each state and one at-large scholar from the region. Each panel typically included a university president, a federal judge, a distinguished public servant and a past Truman Scholarship winner. DeBoom worked closely with the University of Iowa Honors Program in preparing her scholarship application.

Each Truman Scholarship provides up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Recipients must be U.S. citizens, have outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, be in the top quarter of their class, and be committed to careers in government or the not-for-profit sector.

Congress established the Truman Scholarship Foundation in 1975 as the federal memorial to the 33rd U.S. president. The foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service. The activities of the foundation are supported by a special trust fund in the U.S. Treasury. There have been 2,610 Truman Scholars elected since the first awards were made in 1977.

For a listing of the 2008 scholars and more information on the Truman Scholarship Foundation, see

For more information on DeBoom, see

For more information on the UI Honors Program, see

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Sarah Prineas, UI Honors Program, 319-335-1874,; Lois J. Gray, 319-384-0077,