Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 18, 2008

UI Graduate receives Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Award

Gregory Scott of Waterloo, a 2007 graduate in mechanical engineering at the University of Iowa, was one of four students from Iowa's three Regents' universities who received the Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Award recognizing engineering or business students from underrepresented groups. Each will receive a $4,000 cash prize after her or his graduation.

Regent David Miles and Diane Ramsey, director of economic development, real estate and right-of-way for Alliant Energy, honored Scott at a lunch during the March 11 meeting of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, which was held at the UI. Angelica Anderson, a finance major at the University of Northern Iowa; and Beth Takemoto, an industrial engineering major, and Korin Reid, a chemical engineering major, both of Iowa State University, also won awards and were honored at the lunch.

While at the UI Scott enjoyed undergraduate research opportunities and is currently looking forward to graduate studies. As a tutor of elementary and middle school children, he looks forward to continuing to give back as a professor or teacher.

The Alliant Energy Foundation created the Erroll B. Davis Jr. Award to honor Davis, who served as chairman of the board of Alliant Energy Corp. from 2000 to 2006 and is now chancellor of the University System of Georgia. The award, made possible through a gift of $400,000 from the Alliant Energy Foundation, recognizes its recipients' academic achievement, leadership in campus and community organizations and potential for future career success. As part of an agreement between the Alliant Energy Foundation and the Regents' institutions, the gift will ensure that the award is presented annually in perpetuity and will honor up to four students each year.

Associate UI Provost Marcella David coordinated the application process and chaired the selection committee, which included Gerald Smith, professor of management at UNI, and Karen Zunkel, director of Undergraduate Support Services at ISU. "It is a great day when we can recognize the achievements of talented and committed students," Smith said.

Selection committee member Alec Scranton, associate dean for the UI College of Engineering, commented: "This was an exceptional pool of nominees, each of whom should be proud of their accomplishments and the contributions they have made to their university communities."

OTHER INFORMATION: See for more information.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: Marcella David, Associate Provost, 319-335-0705,; George McCrory, University News Services, 319-384-0012,