Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 14, 2008

UI awards Presidential Scholarships to incoming freshmen for 2008

UPDATE: For a list of students who have accepted offers for Presidential Scholarships, see:
(Student name) of (hometown) has been named a University of Iowa Presidential Scholar for 2008. The award is the most prestigious honor given to first-year students planning to attend the University of Iowa. (Name) is the (son/daughter) of (parents' names).

Recipients were selected from a field of more than 700 applicants from all over the world. Presidential Scholarships are awarded on the basis of high school class rank, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, performance on the essay portion of the application, and high school or community service and leadership. The Presidential Scholarship package is worth $52,000 over four years.

EDITORS: This release indicates that a student from your readership area has been named a Presidential Scholar. Students have until May 1, 2008 to accept this offer. Students are listed by state and hometown, name and parents' names. Iowa students are listed first.

Ankeny: Charles Li, son of Xiaoyue Li and Xue Luo; Mona Porter, daughter of William Porter and Nina Cohn.

Cedar Falls: Nickpreet Singh, son of Dr. Joginder and Baljit Singh; Molly Troendle daughter of Jeffrey and Lisa Troendle.

Clive: Hemali Batra, daughter of Chandramohan and Rita Batra

Council Bluffs: Tessa Brow, daughter of Robert and Gail Brow       

Iowa City: Audrey Keranen, daughter of Daniel Keranen and Wendy Han; Lily Kim, daughter of Won-Chung and Hyunsuk Kim; Xiaomeng  Zeng  daughter of Yu Zeng and Hongbo Xie; Shuo Zhang, son of Laiqun Zhang and Zhaohui Shi; Zhanran Zhao, son of  Qiang and Yi Zhao.

Johnston: David Zhang, son of John Zhang and Jing Wang.
Le Mars: Amelia Stonesifer, daughter of Thomas and Valerie Stonesifer

Muscatine: Zongyi Liu, daughter of Sixing Liu and Hong Tang       

North Liberty: Katherine Hanson, daughter of Patrick and Nancy Hanson    

Postville: Barbara McMullan, daughter of Thomas and Gloria McMullan   

Waterloo: Sriya Subramani, daughter of Mani and Sujatha Subramani 

West Des Moines: Rohit Iragavarapu, son of Tammiraj Iragavarapu and Padmavathi Commuri; Peige Zhou, daughter of Ling Zhou and Xia Chen

Brookfield: Bethany LoCicero, daughter of Michael and Barbara LoCicero

Elmhurst: Ethan Ross, son of Dr. Robert Ross and Dr. Sue Ross           

Lincoln: Kelsey Dallas, daughter of Lyndall and Marsha Dallas

Mokena: Bridget Quinn, daughter of Gregory and Regina Quinn      

Palatine: David Heckelsmiller, son of David and Jeanette Heckelsmiller

Wheaton: Clare Bruzek, daughter of Scott and Kirby Bruzek

Leawood:  Lauren Mills, daughter of Brian and Marla Mills        

Overland Park: Jessica Kinkade, daughter of Kerry and Helen Kinkade

Bethesda:  Ryan McClafferty, son of Eric and Bonnie McClafferty   

Cottage Grove: Sarah Clark, daughter of Joseph and Julia Clark       
Golden Valley:  Philip Breczinski, son of John and Jill Breczinski    

Oxford: Jun Ying, son of Xinya Ying and Meiying Yang

Kearney:  Annelise Kreger, daughter of Christopher and Patricia Kreger

Exeter:  Manning Ding, son of Changkui Ding and Jian Huang     

SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: University of Iowa Admissions, 1-800-553-4692; George McCrory, University News Services, 319-384-0012,