Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 7, 2008

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences names Collegiate Fellows

Three University of Iowa professors have been named Collegiate Fellows in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) in recognition of their years of distinguished teaching, research and service to the college. The 2008 Collegiate Fellows are Jeffrey Cox, professor of history; Alan MacVey, professor and chair of theatre arts and director of the Division of Performing Arts; and Kristin Thelander, professor and director of the School of Music.

CLAS Dean Linda Maxson said the distinction is a way for the college to honor outstanding faculty members at the rank of full professor who have consistently demonstrated their dedication to the three-pronged mission of the college.

"This award recognizes senior faculty whose distinction in teaching and scholarship is matched by exceptional leadership in service to the university, the college and their departments," Maxson said. "All of these professors displayed a deep commitment to the college and the university as a whole, giving generously of their time, talents and energy for many years. I am pleased to be able to recognize their achievements and honor their dedication."

Collegiate Fellows receive a salary increase as well as a discretionary fund to support their teaching and research. Fellows are invited to meet with Maxson and the college's associate deans twice each year to discuss opportunities for improving faculty life and undergraduate education.

Cox is a bold and highly original scholar of British imperialism and religion whose work has focused on the declining importance of religion in Great Britain and the rapid expansion of Christianity in the non-Western World. His most recent book, "The British Missionary Enterprise Since 1700," will be published in 2008. For a new project that will explore the growing importance of religion in U.S. public affairs in contrast to the continued secularization of Western Europe, he has been named a UI Global Scholar for 2008-10. In the course of his career, his scholarly work has been supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Council of Learned Societies, the Pew Trust, and the American Institute for Indian Studies. In 2001, he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. A member of the UI faculty since 1977, he has served as chair of his department, president of the UI Faculty Senate, and an elected member of both the CLAS Executive Committee and Educational Policy Committee.

MacVey is an accomplished director, playwright, teacher and administrator. He has directed professional productions at a variety of venues including the Cleveland Playhouse, the Northlight Theatre in Chicago, the Trinity Repertory Company in Providence, R.I., and the Shakespeare Festival at the Folger Library in Washington, D.C., as well as on the UI campus. For the past 30 years, MacVey has served as director of the theatre program at Middlebury College's Bread Loaf School, where he also serves as artistic director of the acting ensemble. In his 17 years as chair of the UI Department of Theatre Arts, he has shaped a highly respected M.F.A. program, recruited a diverse and excellent faculty and student body, and brought many distinguished professional visitors to campus to teach, lead workshops and collaborate with students and faculty. A member of the UI faculty since 1991, he has led the Division of Performing Arts since 2006. He also serves as vice president of the National Association of Schools of Theatre and is on the Board of the Council of Arts Accrediting Associations.

Thelander is an accomplished artist and teacher who for more than a decade led the horn studio in the School of Music. She has had a rich and active performing career on both natural horn and modern horn, appearing as a featured artist at many regional and international horn workshops, brass symposia, and orchestra and chamber music festivals. She is also active as a recording artist and is a member of the Iowa Woodwind Quintet. She is a past recipient of the Noah Greenberg Award of the American Musicological Society, which recognizes historically aware performance. She has been a member of the UI faculty since 1989, and her service to the institution and her profession has been extensive. She has served as director of the School of Music since 2000 and was director of the Division of Performing Arts in 2005-06. Since 2002, she has been an elected member of the Commission on Accreditation of the National Association of Schools of Music -- the primary accrediting agency of music programs in the United States -- and has frequently served as an institutional evaluator.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Nicole Riehl, 319-384-0070,