Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


June 23, 2008

At A Glance

College of Pharmacy faculty earn teaching awards

Four faculty members in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy have been recognized for outstanding teaching in 2007-08.

"Teacher of the Year" award winners are Erika Ernst, associate professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy, who was selected by third-year pharmacy students; Susan Staggs, clinical assistant professor in clinical and administrative pharmacy, who was chosen by second-year students; and Rob Kerns, associate professor of medicinal and natural products chemistry, who received the honor from first-year students. Teacher of the Year awards are based on recommendations by students and reviewed by a faculty committee comprised of the previous year's award recipients.

Mary Starry, clinical instructor in clinical and administrative pharmacy, is the college's recipient of the UI Collegiate Teaching Award.

The winners will be formally recognized at the college's scholarship reception in November.


UI pediatric cardiologist named 'Best Doctor;' new clinic added

A University of Iowa Children's Hospital heart specialist recently saw the clinic she directs earn a prestigious national accreditation, and she led the opening of a second clinic location in Moline and received national recognition for her expertise.

Vickie Diamandakis Pyevich, M.D., directs the Quad Cities Pediatric Cardiology Services Clinics, which recently established a site in Moline. The clinic recently passed a rigorous review by the Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Echocardiography Laboratories (ICAEL). The ICAEL has demanding criteria that make it difficult to receive its accreditation, which goes to only the highest-quality pediatric echocardiology labs.

Pyevich also is now listed in the "Best Doctors in America" database, which includes physicians who are recognized by their peers as highly skilled practitioners of their specialty.


UI physician wins $175,000 research training grant in anesthesia

Christina M. Spofford, M.D., Ph.D., a fellow associate in the UI Department of Anesthesia, has received a Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Mentored Research Training Grant.

This two-year award will provide $175,000 funding for her efforts to learn more about the factors involved in post-surgical pain and the potential development of new therapies to treat this common clinical problem.

Spofford earned her medical degree and a doctorate in physiology under the Medical Scientist Training Program at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. She recently completed a residency in anesthesiology at UI Hospitals and Clinics.


Photos for At A Glance items, if available, may be found at (for arts news) or (for all other news).

For arts information and calendar items visit

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation to participate in a program, please contact the sponsoring department in advance.