Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Feb. 7, 2008

Local UI pharmacy student participates in leadership conference

(Student name) of (hometown), a student at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was one of 11 UI students who attended the 2008 Bill Burke Pharmacy Student Leadership Conference, held Feb. 2-3 in Iowa City.

The conference is an annual program involving students from the UI College of Pharmacy and the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. A total of 29 pharmacy students from both schools participated in the event. The goals of the conference are: instill quality organizational leadership skills; increase awareness of issues impacting the profession of pharmacy; encourage development of leadership skills and involvement in professional and community activities; recognize pharmacy students who have displayed leadership potential; and improve communication and teamwork skills.

The conference is a collaborative effort between the UI, Drake and the Iowa Pharmacy Association, with support provided by the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation and Main At Locust Pharmacy in Bettendorf, Iowa.

EDITORS: Students are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.


Charles City: Samm Anderegg.
Cedar Rapids: Jacob Hanken, Nathan Votroubek.
Guttenberg: Colleen Kann.
Maquoketa: Karen Hora.
North Liberty: Amber Riesselman.
Rock Valley: Megan Leloux.
Spirit Lake: Jack Kampf.
Waterloo: Natalie Tarkett.
West Liberty: Stuart Pittman.


Metamora: Ashley Copes.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5135 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,