Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Dec. 2, 2008

College of Pharmacy faculty, preceptors honored

Five faculty members and 16 preceptors in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy were honored for outstanding teaching during the 2007-08 academic year at a Nov. 13 reception held at the college.

Mary Starry, clinical instructor in clinical and administrative pharmacy, was recognized as the college's recipient of this year's UI Collegiate Teaching Award. Ericka Ernst, associate professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy, was named Teacher of the Year by the college's class of 2009. Susan Staggs, clinical assistant professor in clinical and administrative pharmacy, was chosen as Teacher of the Year by the class of 2010. Robert Kerns, associate professor of medicinal and natural products chemistry, was selected as Teacher of the Year by the class of 2011. Jonathan Koffel, education and outreach librarian at the UI Hardin Library for Health Sciences, received special recognition.

The Teacher of the Year awards are based on nominations by students and are selected by a faculty committee comprised of the previous year's award recipients.

Community Practice Preceptor of the Year awards were presented to Shannon Garcia, Mark Rodemeyer and Amy Rueber at People's Clinic Pharmacy in Waterloo. David Buresh, Constance Clancy, Jessica Havel, Julie Karlan, Lisa Lambi, Dale Lewis, Kelly Phan, Patrick Thies, Katherine Werling and James Willett of St. Luke's Hospital in Cedar Rapids received Hospital/Health System Preceptor of the Year awards. Ambulatory Care Preceptor of the Year awards were given to Kathleen Horner, Deanna McDanel and Ryan Jacobsen of UI Hospitals and Clinics.

The college's Professional Experiential Program and the Office of Academic Affairs selects the preceptor award winners, based on composite student evaluations of the preceptors and the teaching sites.

Preceptors serve as mentors to the fourth-year pharmacy students during the students' clinical clerkships. The clerkships emphasize clinical pharmacy skill development and give students the opportunity to work closely with pharmacists in professional care settings.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,