Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Aug. 15, 2008

University of Iowa Press announces 2008 Iowa Poetry Prize winners

Andrew Michael Roberts of Seattle and Zach Savich of Leonardtown, Md., are the 2008 recipients of the Iowa Poetry Prize. Roberts won the honor for his debut collection, "something has to happen next." Savich's award-winning collection, "Full Catastrophe Living," is also a debut. Both collections will be published in April 2009 by the University of Iowa Press.

Roberts received a bachelor's degree in education from Washington State University, a bachelor's degree in English from Portland State University, and a Master of Fine Arts degree in poetry from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, where he was a Juniper Fellow and received the distinguished teaching award.

He is currently Youth Art Works Manager at the Pratt Fine Arts Center in Seattle. Nominated for the Pushcart Prize, his work has been published in journals including Tin House, the Iowa Review, LIT, Gulf Coast, the Cincinnati Review, the Colorado Review and Fugue. He is the author of two chapbooks, "Give Up" and "Dear Wild Abandon," which won the Poetry Society of America National Chapbook Award in 2007 and was published by the society in 2008.

Savich received a bachelor's degree in English from the University of Washington and a Master of Fine Arts from the UI Writers' Workshop. He is currently in the Master of Fine Arts program for poets and writers at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, where he is a teaching assistant. His poems and essays have appeared in many journals, including the Colorado Review, the Beloit Poetry Journal, jubilat, Court Green and the Denver Quarterly. He is an editor at Thermos Magazine.

Awarded annually by the UI Press, the Iowa Poetry Prize is one of the leading national poetry awards. The competition is open to new as well as established poets. Recent winners of the prize include "Sunday Houses the Sunday House" by Elizabeth Hughey, "American Spikenard" by Sara Vap, "Lug Your Careless Body Out of the Careful Dusk" by Joshua Marie Wilkinson and "Raw Goods Inventory" by Emily Rosko.

For UI arts information and calendar updates, visit To receive UI arts news by e-mail, go to and click the link "Join or Leave ACR News," then follow the instructions.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Arts Center Relations, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACTS: Allison Thomas, UI Press, 319-335-2015; Winston Barclay, Arts Center Relations, 319-384-0073,