Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Aug. 5, 2008

Hawkeye alumni athletes and broadcasters to appear at State Fair

University of Iowa sports fans can meet standout alumni athletes and broadcasters, get their autographs and recall some special moments in Iowa sports history at the 2008 Iowa State Fair Aug. 7-17.

These "Hawkeye Heroes" will be at the UI booth in the Varied Industries Building on the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines. Hawkeye athletes scheduled to appear include:

Ryan Hogan -- Basketball 2002 (3 to 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 7): Hogan was a standout basketball guard in the 2002 season.

Scott Carpenter -- Golf 1993-91 (3 to 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 7): Carpenter was a four-year golf letter winner.

Jon Filloon -- Football 1988-91 (5 to 7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 8): Filloon, of Manson, Iowa, played wide receiver for the Hawkeyes and was on the 1990 Rose Bowl and 1991 Holiday Bowl teams.

Melvin Foster -- Football 1987-90 (3 to 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 8): A linebacker for the Hawkeyes, Foster was named to the 1990 All-Big Ten team. He went on to play in the NFL and played in the 1993 Super Bowl for the Dallas Cowboys.

Brian Mitchell -- Baseball 1996-99 (3 to 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 8): An All Big Ten infielder at Iowa, Brian became the Hawkeyes' all-time home run record holder and was an All-American. After playing baseball at Iowa, Brian went on to play baseball in the Toronto Blue Jays organization.

Bobby Hansen -- Basketball 1980-83 (2 to 4 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 9): As a collegian at Iowa, Hansen played in four NCAA tournaments between 1978 and 1981 and helped the Hawkeyes to the Final Four as a freshman in 1980.  As a senior in 1983, he was Iowa's most valuable player.  He ranks 22nd on the Hawkeyes' career scoring chart with 1,145 points. He also played in the NBA with the Utah Jazz and Chicago Bulls, where he helped win the final 1992 NBA championship game.

Steve Krafcisin -- Basketball 1979-81 (5 to 7 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 9): Krafcisin was second on the Iowa men's basketball team as a senior with 15 blocked shots.  He played in every game as a senior and led the team in free throws, free throws attempted and rebounds as a senior. He was also third in scoring as a senior. Krafcisin was also on the 1980 Final Four team.

Bob Brooks -- Broadcaster (2 to 4 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 10): Brooks is a long-time broadcaster who provided play-by-play coverage of Hawkeye football and basketball for 55 years. Brooks worked at WSUI from 1943-48 and worked at KCRG and KHAK before assuming his current post at KMRY. Brooks was the recipient of the 2002 Chris Schenkel Award, which is presented annually by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Inc.

Jon Miller -- Broadcaster (2 to 4 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 10): Miller, who was raised just a few miles from Iowa City in West Branch, founded the popular Hawkeye Nation in April 2001 and continues to serve as the Website's publisher. He also supplies the sports updates for 1040 WHO and the Iowa Radio Network. He currently lives in West Des Moines with his wife and daughter.

Trevor Bollers -- Football 1994, 1996-98 (3 to 5 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 10): Bollers played fullback for the Hawkeyes, and was named Academic All Big Ten 1995-1997. He later went on to play in the NFL.

Guy Bilek -- Football 1965-67 (9 to 11 p.m. Monday, Aug. 11): Bilek was a letter winner in football in 1966 and 1967.

Mark Ironside -- Wrestling 1995-1998 (1 to 3 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 12): Ironside (photo, left) was a Big Ten wrestling champ and an All-American from 1995-1998. He was Big Ten Wrestler of the Year 1996-98 and was named the Outstanding Wrestler at the Big Ten Championship in 1997.  Mark was the NCAA champion at 134 pounds in 1997-98.

Kenyon Murray -- Basketball 1993-1996 (4 to 6 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 12): Murray (photo, right) holds an Iowa record with 200 career steals and had 1,230 career points to rank 12th in career scoring. He ranks sixth in career blocked shots (63), ninth in three-point attempts (191) and 10th in three-pointers made (49).

Wilburn Hollis -- Football 1959-1961 (3 to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 13): Hollis, a star quarterback, was honored Second Team All American and First Team All Big Ten in 1960.

Brooks Simpson -- Wrestling 1987-1990 (3 to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 13): Simpson was All American and Big Ten Champion in 1990 at 190 pounds.

Teresa Kuhlman -- Cross Country 1977, Track 1978 (3 to 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 14)

Scott Helverson -- Football 1981-1984, NFL Official (3 to 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 14): Helvorson was a wide receiver for Iowa's 1985 Big Ten championship team, and played in the 1986 Rose Bowl and East-West Shrine Bowl. As a as a senior he caught 54 passes for 703 yards and five touchdowns. He has been a official for NCAA, Arena Football and the NFL. A highlight of his officiating career was being back judge for Super Bowl XLII, won by the New York Giants, 17-14, over the New England Patriots

Gary Barta, director of Intercollegiate Athletics (noon to 2 p.m. Friday, Aug. 15).

Craig Clemons -- Football 1969-71 (3 to 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 15): Clemons was honored First Team All-American and First Team All Big Ten in 1971. He went on to play in the NFL for the Chicago Bears.

Chuck Yagla -- Wrestling 1973-1976 (12 to 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 16): Yagla was a two-time NCAA champion at the UI and three-time All-American. He was named the Outstanding Wrestler at the 1976 NCAA tournament. In 1980, the former Hawkeye standout qualified for the Olympics but was unable to compete due to a boycott by the United States. He was also a former assistant coach at Iowa. He was recently appointed coordinator of wrestling officials for the Big Ten and Big 12 Conferences.

Ed Podolak -- Football 1966-1968, broadcaster (12 to 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 16): Podolak received first team All-Big Ten status in 1968 as a tailback, when he was selected for First Team All-Big Ten honors and Hawkeye MVP. He went on to enjoy a NFL career with the Kansas City Chiefs from 1969 to 1977. He won a Super Bowl ring with the Chiefs in 1970. Podolak is part of the Hawkeye radio broadcast team, joining Gary Dolphin on the play-by-play of Iowa football.

Mac McCausland -- Basketball 1964-1967, broadcaster (time to be announced): McCausland has been Iowa Basketball broadcast analyst since 1982 for a variety of radio and television properties, including WHO Radio, Iowa Television Network, ESPN, Fox, and many others. A longtime columnist for Voice of the Hawkeyes, he is the past president of the National I-Club and the Black Hawk County I-Club.

Lynn Tauke-Mawe -- Golf 1983-86 (5 to 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 14): Tauke-Mawe lettered from 1983 to 1986, played on the All Big 10 tournament team in 1986 and holds the competitive, 18-hole record at Finkbine from 1969.

The UI State Fair exhibit will also feature Herky and the UI cheer and dance squad from 3-7 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 7; Friday, Aug. 8; Saturday, Aug. 9; Sunday, Aug. 10; Friday, Aug. 15; and Saturday, Aug. 16.

Visitors will also get the opportunity to win tickets to UI athletics events, including Hawkeye football and men's and women's basketball games and wrestling meets, receive giveaways such as Hawkeye temporary tattoos and football posters and visit the Hawk Shop.  The Hawk Shop will offer a wide variety of merchandise for fans of all ages. Fair-goers can also see Floyd of Rosedale, the wrestling national championship trophy and Big 10 Championship trophies.

SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Scott Ketelsen, 319-384-0018,; George McCrory 319-384-0012,, Writers: Aly Dolan & Genevieve Krier