Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Nov. 6, 2007

UI medical students inducted into honor society

Fifteen students in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine were inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, at an initiation ceremony and reception Nov. 1 in Iowa City.

The inductees are Mazen Albaghdadi, Amaris Anderson, Chiraag Dharia, Henry Diggelmann, Elizabeth Grace, Leah Habib, Amanda Hohmann, Brett Hronek, Lindsey Klocke, Bethany Lewis, Anne Lewis, Kathryn Miller, Larissa Pisney, Jaime Vanourny and Derek Zhorne.

Founded in 1902, AOA promotes scholarship and research in medical schools and encourages a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and medical school graduates. In recognition of high attainment and excellence in medical science, practice and related fields, the society elects outstanding medical students, alumni and faculty members to its ranks.

AOA has 124 chapters at medical schools throughout the United States and Canada. The UI chapter, Alpha of Iowa, was established in 1920.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,