Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Nov. 2, 2007

Abboud named president of American Clinical and Climatological Association

Francois Abboud, M.D., the Edith King Pearson Chair of Cardiovascular Research in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, was inducted as president of the American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA) during the organization's 120th meeting Oct. 18-21 in Tucson, Ariz.

ACCA is one of the oldest and most prestigious associations in academic medicine and research, established in 1884 by a group of physicians and scientists who set about to improve medical education, research and practice in the United States. Its initial concern was with tuberculosis and its treatment by residence in a suitable climate.

Over its 123 years, the society has expanded its field of interest to multiple disciplines within the broad scope of internal medicine. Its membership is composed of medical leaders among physicians engaged in academic pursuits, teaching and clinical practice. ACCA provides a forum for the presentation and critical discussion of discoveries in basic research applied to disease, clinical research and medical education.

A UI faculty member since 1960, Abboud served as head of the UI Department of Internal Medicine from 1976 to 2002, and he continues to direct the UI Cardiovascular Research Center, established in 1975. Abboud has previously served as president of the American Federation for Clinical Research, the Central Society for Clinical Research, the American Heart Association and the Association of American Physicians.

ACCA members are selected on the basis of leadership and excellence in their chosen field. The organization's active membersh is restricted to 175 physicians. In addition to Abboud, elected ACCA members with current or past UI affiliations include: Robert Clark, M.D.; James Clifton, M.D.; Gerald DiBona, M.D.; John Eckstein, M.D.; Donald Heistad, M.D.; Allyn Mark, M.D.; Jean Robillard, M.D.; Richard Wenzel, M.D.; and the late Lewis January, M.D., and William Bean, M.D. Bean, head of the UI Department of Internal Medicine from 1948-1970, served as president of ACCA in 1967.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, Health Science Relations, 319-335-8032,