Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


UI College Of Public Health Honors Students, Faculty And Staff

The University of Iowa College of Public Health honored the achievements of students, faculty and staff at its annual Graduation and Honors Dinner and Milford E. Barnes Awards Ceremony held May 11.

Six students received Milford E. Barnes Awards for outstanding work in their areas of study. The awards are named for Milford Barnes, M.D., who served as professor and head of the UI Department of Hygiene and Preventive Medicine from 1930 to 1952. The recipients were: Ellen Davis, Department of Health Management and Policy; Nathan Fethke, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health; Daniel Gregory, Department of Epidemiology; Kwang-Youn Kim, Department of Biostatistics; Jana Peterson, Department of Community and Behavioral Health; and Philip Van De Griend, Master of Public Health Program. Lilian Hu, Master of Public Health Program, received the Dean's Achievement Award.

Linda Snetselaar, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology, received the College of Public Health Faculty Teaching Award. Paul Romitti, Ph.D., assistant professor of epidemiology, received the Faculty Service Award, and Gregory Gray, M.D., professor of epidemiology, received the Faculty Research Award.

The Staff Research Award was given to Sharon Setterquist, research assistant III/senior virologist with the UI Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases. The Staff Service Award was presented to Laurie Walkner, grants coordinator with the UI Institute for Public Health Practice.

Student, faculty and alumni inductees into the UI chapter of the Delta Omega Honor Society in Public Health also were recognized. Newly elected student members included Nathan Fethke, Daniel Gregory, Lei Hua, Mrinalini Joshi, Matthew Lozier, Joey Michael, Jana Peterson, Carissa Rocheleau, Preeti Satyanarayana, Andria Timmer, Philip Van De Griend and Shanshan Zhao.

Newly elected faculty members to the honor society were Mary Aquilino, Ph.D., professor of community and behavioral health, and Elizabeth Chrischilles, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology.

Newly elected alumni members were James Cerhan, M.D, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in Rochester, Minn.; R. William Field, Ph.D., UI associate professor of occupational and environmental health; Susan Johnson, M.D., UI associate provost for faculty; Sue Joslyn, Ph.D., associate dean for graduate academic affairs at the University of Northern Iowa; and Risto Rautiainen, Ph.D., UI clinical associate professor of occupational and environmental health. U.S. Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa, was named an honorary member.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242

MEDIA CONTACT: Debra Venzke, 319-335-9647,; Writer: Brandy Huseman