Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 9, 2007

Photo left to right: Provost Michael Hogan, award recipients Gerald Eskin, Ann and Alan January, Charlie Anderson, Jim Hayes, and Museum of Art Director Howard Collinson; click on photo for high resolution image (300dpi) (photo by Mike Breazeale)

UI Museum Of Art Recognizes Volunteer Award Winners

The University of Iowa Museum of Art (UIMA) honored several of it volunteers at the annual Susan M. Horowitz Volunteer Reception April 26 in the museum.

UIMA Director Howard Collinson and UI Provost Michael Hogan expressed their appreciation to attendees for the more than 3,000 hours of volunteer support given to the museum over the past year.

The museum presents volunteer awards every three to four years. This is the fifth time that they have been presented since their initiation in 1989. Categories and this year's recipients are listed below:

Alan and Ann January of Indianapolis received the Elliott/Stanley Award for Acquisitions, recognizing outstanding contributions to the museum's permanent collection through the donations of gifts of art. Their generous contributions of prints are a very significant addition to the collection. Past recipients of this award include Dr. and Mrs. Hans Ehrenhaft, Joan Mannheimer, Dorothy Schramm, and Gerry and Hope Solomons.

Charlie Anderson of Iowa City was awarded the Webster and Gloria Gelman Award, recognizing outstanding service to the museum through volunteer involvement of more than 80 hours this year. He has worked as a docent, a museum store volunteer and volunteer chair on the members council. Other recipients of this award have been Peggy Gerber, Bill Nusser and Betsy Boyd, Madeline Sullivan and Marlene Stanford.

Gerry Eskin of Iowa City received the Frank Seiberling Award, recognizing significant faculty contributions to the UIMA, particularly for his work helping to design and curate the UIMA's new Ceramics Gallery. He joins previous recipients Harlan Sifford, Wallace Tomasini, Keith Achepohl and Willard Boyd.

Jim Hayes of Iowa City received the Ulfert Wilke Award for significant contributions toward volunteer outreach, specifically for his efforts toward bringing in new members, and promoting and supporting events at the UIMA. Previous recipients include Louis January, Robert Sierk, Linda Behrendt and Jeri Kelch.

Susan Horowitz was a museum docent and a member of the Friends Development Council, as well as a community volunteer and former mayor of Iowa City. The Horowitz family established an endowment in Susan's name after her death, and the UIMA salutes its volunteers in her honor.

For more information on the UI Museum of Art visit on the World Wide Web.

For UI arts information and calendar updates, visit To receive UI arts news by e-mail, go to, click the link "Join or leave the list (or change settings)" and follow the instructions.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Arts Center Relations, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Peter Alexander, 319-384-0072; cell: 319-541-2846;