Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 4, 2007

UI Physicians Named As Top Doctors For Men

Forty-eight physicians from University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics are listed among the top doctors for men, with two physicians specially cited for being among the nation's top 160 doctors in eight fields of specialty.

The rankings were published by Men's Health magazine.

The two specially cited physicians were Harold Adams, M.D., who was listed among the nation's top 20 neurologists, and David Elliott, M.D., who was listed among the nation's top 20 gastroenterologists.

The rankings were compiled by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., which researches the medical education, training, appointments and disciplinary history of "top doctor" candidates. Much like the "America's Best Doctors" database, the "America's Top Doctor" physician list is based on nominations by professional peers in a survey.

Doctors do not pay to be included on the list.

Here are the 48 UI physicians named in the "top doctors for men" rankings:

Cardiac Electrophysiology: Mark Anderson, M.D., Ph.D.

Gastroenterology: David Elliott, M.D.; Bruce Luxon, M.D., Ph.D; Satish Rao, M.D.; Warren Schmidt, M.D.; Konrad Schulze, M.D.; William Silverman, M.D.

Gynecologic Oncology: Koen De Geest, M.D.

Medical Oncology: Gerald Clamon, M.D.; George Weiner, M.D.

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine: Edward Bell, M.D.

Neurology: Harold Adams, M.D.

Neurological Surgery: Arnold Menezes, M.D.; Timothy Ryken, M.D.; Vincent Traynelis, M.D.

Ophthalmology: Wallace Alward, M.D.; Keith Carter, M.D.; Andrew Lee, M.D.; Jeffrey; Nerad, M.D.; Edwin Stone, M.D., Ph.D.; Thomas Weingeist, M.D., Ph.D.

Orthopaedic surgery: Joseph Buckwalter, M.D.; John Callaghan, M.D.; Stuart Weinstein, M.D.

Otolaryngology: Gerry Funk, M.D.; Bruce Gantz, M.D.; Henry Hoffman, M.D.

Pain Medicine: Richard Rosenquist, M.D.

Pathology: Michael Cohen, M.D.; Frank Mitros, M.D.

Pediatric Cardiology: Michael Artman, M.D.

Pediatric Hematology-Oncology: Raymond Tannous, M.D.

Plastic Surgery: John Canady, M.D.

Psychiatry: Arnold Andersen, M.D.

Pulmonary Disease: Gary Hunninghake, M.D.; Geoffrey McLennan, M.D.

Reproductive Endocrinology: Bradley Van Voorhis, M.D.

Rheumatology: Robert Ashman, M.D.; George Lawry, M.D.

Surgery: James Howe, M.D.; Carol Scott-Conner, M.D.,Ph.D.; Ronald Weigel, M.D.,Ph.D.

Thoracic Surgery: Douglas Behrendt, M.D.; Mark Iannettoni, M.D.

Urology: Michael O'Donnell, M.D.; Richard Williams, M.D.; Howard Winfield, M.D.

Vascular Surgery: Timothy Kresowik, M.D.

STORY SOURCE: Joint Office for Marketing and Communications, University of Iowa Health Care, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room E110 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Moore, 319-356-3945,