Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


May 1, 2007

Hovenkamp Elected To American Academy Of Arts And Sciences

Herbert Hovenkamp, professor of law and holder of the Ben and Dorothy Willie Chair at the University of Iowa, has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS).

The AAAS, a prestigious international society composed of leading scientists, scholars, artists, business people and public leaders, announced the election of 227 new Fellows and 20 new Foreign Honorary Members on Monday.

The scholars, scientists, artists, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders come from 27 states and 13 countries, and range in age from 36 to 92. Represented among this year's newly elected members are 70 universities, including seven presidents or chancellors; more than a dozen corporations; as well as museums, research institutes, media outlets and foundations.

Hovenkamp has taught at the UI College of Law since 1986 and is one of the most influential anti-trust scholars in American law. His publications include some 70 articles and approximately 50 essays and book reviews, as well as a dozen books. Of these, "Enterprise and American Law, 1800-1860," received the Littleton-Griswold Prize of the American Historical Association, and "Science and Religion in America: 1800-1860" received the Choice Award.

His book "The Antitrust Enterprise: Principle and Execution," published in 2005, has been hailed by critics, and he is the senior surviving author of "Antitrust Law: An Analysis of Antitrust Principles and their Application," first published in 1978 and now at 20 volumes. He and UI law professor Sheldon Kurtz also co-authored the book "American Property Law," one of the leading casebooks on property law used in American legal education.

Hovenkamp also worked as a legal advisor for several states that had filed suit against Microsoft for anti-trust violations. The states were victorious in their suit, decided in 2004.

Hovenkamp has also been named a Rockefeller Foundation Fellow by Harvard Law School; a fellow of the American Council of Learned Societies by Harvard Law School; and a faculty scholar at the University of Iowa. He has also delivered a Presidential Lecture at UI and was the recipient of a UI Collegiate Teaching Award.

Before coming to Iowa, Hovenkamp was professor of law at the University of California, Hastings College of the Law. He was also an instructor in the Department of History and American Civilization at the University of Texas.

Hovenkamp earned his bachelor's degree from Calvin College, and his master's, Ph.D. and law degrees from the University of Texas.

The AAAS will welcome this year's new class at its annual Induction Ceremony on October 6, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Along with Hovenkamp, this year's new fellows include former Vice President Albert Gore, Jr.; former Supreme Court Associate Justice Sandra Day O'Connor; New York Mayor and businessman Michael Bloomberg; Google Chairman and CEO Eric Schmidt; New York Times investigative correspondent James Risen; filmmaker Spike Lee; economists Gregory Mankiw and Murray Weidenbaum; astronomer Donald Brownlee; robotics pioneer Rodney Brooks; Pixar Chief Creative Officer John Lasseter; supercomputer expert David Shaw; pianist Emanuel Ax; historian Nell Painter; former White House official and Berkeley Law Dean Christopher Edley; classicist Sabine MacCormack; international public health leader Allan Rosenfield; and Yale law professor Akhil R. Amar.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the AAAS has elected as fellows and foreign honorary members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. An independent policy research center, the academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current AAAS research focuses on science and global security; social policy; the humanities and culture; and education.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,