Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 30, 2007

UI Awards Presidential Scholarships To 30 Incoming Freshmen For 2007

(Student name) of (hometown) is one of 30 University of Iowa incoming freshmen to be named a Presidential Scholar for 2007. The award is the most prestigious honor given to entering freshmen. (Name) is the (son/daughter) of (parents' names).

Recipients were chosen from a field of over 700 top-ranking high school seniors from all over the world. Presidential Scholarships are awarded on the basis of high school class rank, grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, performance on the essay portion of the application, and high school or community service and leadership. The Presidential Scholarship package is worth $52,000 over four years.

EDITORS: This release indicates that a student from your readership area has been awarded a Presidential Scholarship. Students are listed by state and hometown, name and parents' names. Iowa students are listed first.


Ames: Ambika Siddhanta Athreya, Krishna B. and Krishna S. Athreya

Ames: Mark Yang Fang, Jiasong Fang

Ames: Luei Wern Ong, Say Kee Ong and Siew Hwang Tan

Ames: Krishna Madhav Prabhu, Gurpur and Gits Prabhu

Cedar Rapids: Rebecca Lynn Dennis, Lynn Dennis

Coralville: Bethany Lynn Patten, Larry and Julie Patten

Coralville: Carly Reisch Stahmer, Melvin and Kathy Stahmer

Dubuque: Holly Ann Patch, Jim and Stacy Patch

Dubuque: Matthew W. Zmudka, William and Lori Zmudka

Griswold: Bryan Paul Stein, Paul and Denise Stein

Inwood: Allison M. Bruggeman, Craig and Darla Bruggeman

Iowa City: Charles Gordon Bourjaily, Philip and Pamela Bourjaily

Iowa City: Peter Montag, Chris Montag and Debra Suda

Iowa City: Paul Alexander Nelson, Scott and Tracy Nelson

Iowa City: Christopher Michael Page, Joseph Page and Carolyn Antone-Page

Iowa City: Allison Michaela Panther, Mary Panther

Iowa City: Ran Zhang, Xingwang Zhang and Fang Zhu

Le Mars: Vijay Niels Permeswaran, V. and Sherri Permeswaran

Marshalltown: Malory Jane Dreasler, Paul Dreasler and Laura Kirkman

Urbandale: Tony Wang, Grace Wang


Bloomington: Kristina Michelle Warren, Kent and Kerry Warren

Normal: Anthony John Melchiorri, John and Kelly Melchiorri

Palatine: Courtney Lynn Tuegel, David and Diane Tuegel

Schaumburg: Alyssa M. Ceretti, Anthony and M.J. Ceretti


Overland Park: Paul Edward Cassat, Jonathan and Susan Cassat


Columbia: Cole Pruitt, David and Michelle Pruitt


Boone: Emily Katherine Hopkins, Steve and Patrice Hopkins


Sioux Falls: Renugan Raidoo, Bharathi and Deshandra Raidoo


Cedar Hill: Erica Anne Lastufka, Michael and Chewlan Lastufka


Kenai: Hannah Christine Watkins, Robert and Christine Watkins

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Lois J. Gray, 319-384-0077,