Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


March 30, 2007

UI Pharmacy Student Named To Leadership Honor Society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the national Pharmacy Leadership Society, during an initiation ceremony March 27 in Iowa City.

(Student last name) was inducted into the UI's Beta Epsilon Chapter. Members are chosen by peer recognition. The mission of Phi Lambda Sigma is to support pharmacy leadership commitment by recognizing leaders and fostering leadership development

Established in 1965 at Auburn Unversity, the society become national in 1968. The UI chapter's current student president is Ju Ann Khaw, and the faculty advisor is Karen Farris, UI associate professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy

EDITORS: Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.


Bettendorf: Paige Berens

Cedar Rapids: Nathan Votroubek

Clearfield: Gentry Baker

Coralville: Graziela Zanetti Kalil

Davenport: Rachael Collins

Iowa City: Ashley Kessler

Oskaloosa: Ellen Sievers

Sherrill: Kelly Schueller

Solon: Erica Thienes Lee

Waterloo: Jennifer Goings


Geneseo: Brett Barker

Round Lake: Sarah Bresemann


Waconia: Heidi Meier

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5137 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: Becky Soglin, 319-335-6660,