Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


June 1, 2007

Open Forums Planned For Five UI Presidential Finalists June 11-15

The University of Iowa Presidential Search Committee has selected five finalists and will hold open forums and receptions for each of them Monday through Friday, June 11-15.

In addition to attending the forums and receptions, which are open to the public, candidates will meet privately with UI administrators, faculty, staff and student leaders. The names of the candidates will be announced publicly a day before their visits.

Each candidate's hour-long public forum will begin at 3:45 p.m. in the Senate Chamber of the Old Capitol Museum on the UI Pentacrest. Candidates have been asked to speak for up to 30 minutes on what he or she sees as the top issues confronting public research universities. The remainder of the forum will be given over to questions from audience members.

For the finalists visiting campus Tuesday through Friday, June 12-15, receptions will follow the forums from 5 to 6 p.m. on the first floor of the Old Capitol Museum. For the candidate visiting campus on Monday, June 11, the reception will be held at the UI Museum of Natural History in Macbride Hall.

For people who are unable to attend in person, each forum will be taped and broadcast on UITV at 7 p.m. the day of the visit.

Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to complete an online evaluation of each candidate. The evaluation form will be accessible from the presidential search website:

David Johnsen, chair of the Presidential Search Committee and dean of the College of Dentistry, encouraged the community to welcome the finalists during their visits to the campus.

"On behalf of the Presidential Search Committee, I offer my hearty thanks to everyone who offered us advice and encouragement during this important process," Johnsen said in an e-mail to the UI campus. "The search committee is excited to have identified five exceptional candidates. We are eager for you to meet them and help us make our final recommendation to the Board of Regents."

In addition to Johnsen, members of the search committee include Professor Jonathan Carlson, College of Law; Professor Lee Anna Clark, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS); Professor Elizabeth Chrischilles, Department of Epidemiology, College of Public Health; Associate Professor Sarah England, Physiology and Biophysics, Carver College of Medicine (CCOM); Professor Ed Folsom, Department of English, CLAS; Leonard Hadley, retired Chairman and CEO, Maytag Corporation; Dean Linda Maxson, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Professor Paul Rothman, DEO, Department of Internal Medicine, CCOM; Professor Gene Parkin, Department of Civil-Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering; Cheryl Reardon, Assistant to the Dean/VP for Research; Professor Jarjisu Sa-Aadu, Department of Finance, Tippie College of Business; and Sarah Vigmostad, graduate student in the Department of Biomedical Engineering.

STORY SOURCE: University Relations, 101 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1000.

MEDIA CONTACT: Steve Parrott,, phone 319-335-0552, cell 319-530-6972.