Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Jan. 25, 2007

UI Presidential Search Committee To Meet Friday, Jan. 26

The University of Iowa Presidential Search Committee will meet at 4 p.m. Friday, Jan. 26 in Room N310 of the Dental Science Building on the UI campus. The meeting is open to the public.

The agenda for the meeting is as following:

  1. Welcome by David Johnsen, Search Committee Chair and Dean of the UI College of Dentistry
  2. Charge to the Search Committee
  3. Confidentiality
  4. Introduction by Search Committee members
  5. Discussion of the role of the Chair and the Committee members
  6. Format for reporting Committee activities
  7. Committee notebook
  8. Preliminary discussion on Committee procedures
  9. Preliminary discussion on way of engaging the UI community on issues and candidates
  10. Ideas for future discussions
    1. What does a President do?
    2. What are we looking for in a President?
    3. What are current strategic identities of the UI?
  11. Preliminary discussion on ideas for Committee timeline/task list
  12. Discussion regular time for Committee meetings
  13. Executive session

Members of the Presidential Search Committee, in addition to Johnsen, are: Professor Jonathan Carlson, College of Law; Professor Lee Anna Clark, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS); Professor Elizabeth Chrischilles, Department of Epidemiology, Carver College of Medicine (CCOM); Associate Professor Sarah England, Physiology and Biophysics, CCOM; Professor Ed Folsom, Department of English, CLAS; Leonard Hadley, retired Chairman and CEO, Maytag Corporation; Dean Linda Maxson, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Professor Paul Rothman, DEO, Department of Internal Medicine, CCOM; Professor Gene Parkin, Department of Civil-Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering; Cheryl Reardon, Assistant to the Dean/VP for Research; Professor  Jarjisu Sa-Aadu, Department of Finance, Tippie College of Business; and Sarah Vigmostad, graduate student in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. 

STORY SOURCE: University Relations, 101 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1000.

MEDIA CONTACT: Steve Parrott,, phone 319-335-0552, cell 319-530-6972