Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Dec. 27, 2007

Cohen to receive American Pharmacists Association honor

Jordan Cohen, Ph.D., professor and dean emeritus in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, has been named the recipient of the 2008 Hugo H. Schaefer Award from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

The annual award, established in 1964, honors an APhA member who has made outstanding voluntary contributions to society and the profession of pharmacy.

Cohen was selected for his efforts in the areas of education, professional development, leadership training and commitment to the pharmacy profession. Throughout his career, Cohen has participated in numerous leadership forums and education conferences, where he has championed the role pharmacy can play with other professions in delivering quality health care services. He also has been a strong supporter of student involvement in professional organizations, helping create opportunities for student-pharmacists that have benefited pharmacy organizations on the state and national level.

Cohen will receive the Schaefer Award during the APhA's annual meeting March 14-17 in San Diego.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, Health Science Relations, 319-335-8032,