Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Aug. 31, 2007

UI College of Engineering announces 2007-08 student ambassadors

The University of Iowa College of Engineering Student Ambassador Program recently announced the names of 16 students who will serve as student ambassadors for the 2007-2008 academic year.

Selected to participate in the program is (student name) of (hometown), a (year in school and name of major).

College administrators said that the Student Ambassador Program, currently in its 11th year, was initiated to complement the services that engineering faculty and staff offer.

"The student ambassadors are engineering students from each department who wish to share the benefit of their experiences and provide help whenever it's needed," P. Barry Butler, dean of the College of Engineering, said. "They serve as a resource for current students as well as for prospective high school and transfer students."

The student ambassadors work closely with Jane Dorman, director of admissions and outreach for the college, on future student recruitment.

EDITORS: Student ambassadors are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa participants listed first and those from other states following.


BURLINGTON: Rachel Collier, Burlington, senior in chemical engineering.

CEDAR RAPIDS: Rachel Levine, Cedar Rapids, junior in chemical engineering and music.

DAVENPORT: Adam Duggleby, Davenport, junior in mechanical engineering.

DONAHUE: Cari Thompson, Donahue, junior in biomedical engineering.

IDA GROVE: Jared Bogue, Ida Grove, sophomore in mechanical engineering.

IOWA CITY: Jordan Cannon, Iowa City, junior in industrial engineering.

MARSHALLTOWN: Sarah Rinehart, Marshalltown, sophomore in biomedical engineering.

NEVADA: Peter VanSickle, Nevada, junior in civil engineering.

WEST DES MOINES: Andy Ewald, West Des Moines, senior in mechanical engineering; Ryan Wallace, West Des Moines, senior in civil engineering.


DE KALB: Jackson Ebbesen, De Kalb, junior in biomedical engineering.

PEORIA: Allison Bartak, Peoria, junior in mechanical engineering.

SHOREWOOD: Kyle Hudson, Shorewood, junior in civil engineering.

STERLING: Kate Douglas, Sterling, sophomore in chemical engineering.


LINCOLN: Kaitlyn Malone, Lincoln, junior in biomedical engineering.

OMAHA: Adam Keen, Omaha, junior in civil engineering.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, University News Services, 319-384-0009,