Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Aug 15, 2007

Tevis To Receive 2007 I-CASH Hall Of Fame Award

Iowa's Center for Agricultural Safety and Health (I-CASH) has named Cheryl Tevis (left) of Pilot Mound, Iowa, the 2007 recipient of its Agricultural Safety and Health Hall of Fame Award.

Based in the University of Iowa College of Public Health, I-CASH is a joint venture of the UI, ISU, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship.

A writer and editor with Successful Farming magazine since 1979, Tevis serves as senior farm issues editor for the magazine. Founded in 1902, Successful Farming is one of the most successful and recognizable publications in agriculture, reaching 1.2 million readers each month.

Tevis will receive the award at 12:10 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 15, during the WOI midday radio show which will air live from the Iowa State University Extension booth, located in the 4-H Building at the Iowa State Fair in Des Moines. Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey will present the award.

Throughout her professional career, Tevis has worked to improve the public's knowledge of farm safety and health issues, especially those that affect rural children. She has received numerous awards for her writing, including the National Award for Excellence in Journalism from the North American Agricultural Journalists (2006); the American Agricultural Editors' Association Writing Award (2006); the American Corn Growers Voice of Agriculture Award (2002); and the Milt Hakel Award for Agricultural Communications from the National Farmers Union (2001). She also was a finalist in the 1990 National Magazine Awards for her article "We Kill Too Many Farm Kids."

Tevis also devotes considerable time to farm health and safety issues beyond her journalistic duties. She volunteers with her local 4-H club, and she serves on the Boone County Extension Council. Tevis also has served several terms on the board of directors and helped developed programming for Farm Safety 4 Just Kids, an Iowa-based organization that promotes farm safety awareness among children through educational resources and training programs to individuals and communities.

Tevis grew up on a 320-acre grain and livestock farm near Sioux City, Iowa. She received a bachelor's degree at Morningside College in Sioux City and a master's degree in journalism in 1975 at the University of Missouri. Prior to joining Successful Farming, she was an associate editor for Farm Wife News at Reiman Publications in Milwaukee, Wis.

Her husband, Stan Lingren, farms near Pilot Mound. The couple has two daughters.

I-CASH created the Hall of Fame Award in 2002 as a lifetime achievement award for individuals or organizations that have made significant and lasting contributions to agricultural safety and health in Iowa. Tevis joins Charlotte Halverson, rural health training coordinator at the National Educational Center for Agricultural Safety and Rural Health; L.W. (Pete) Knapp, Ph.D., University of Iowa professor emeritus; Marilyn Adams, founder and president of Farm Safety 4 Just Kids; Carolyn Sheridan, clinical director of AgriSafe Network, Inc.; and Charles Schwab, Ph.D., and Janis Stone, Ph.D., Iowa State University professors.

For more information about I-CASH and to find out how to nominate an individual for next year's award, visit the I-CASH Web site at

For more information about Successful Farming, visit their Web site Agriculture Online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,

I-CASH CONTACT: Meggan Fisher, 319-335-4226,