Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


April 6, 2007

Local University Of Iowa Pharmacy Student Named To Honor Society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of the Rho Chi Society, the national academic honor society in pharmacy, during an initiation ceremony March 30 in Coralville.

(Student last name) was inducted to the Delta Chapter, the UI-based chapter of the Rho Chi Society. To be accepted into the society, students must rank in the highest 20 percent of their class after having completed six semesters of scholastic work applicable toward their pharmacy degrees. Graduate students must have at least half of their coursework completed and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 in order to be nominated.

Established in 1922, the Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy.

EDITORS: Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.


Altoona: Amanda Rohlf

Belle Plaine: Kara Jacobi

Calumet: Karma Huffman

Coralville: William Halls, Paul Heid

Davenport: Rachael Collins

Dubuque: Michael Hirsch

Halbur: Kyle Rotert

Iowa City: Fadi Alkhateeb, Lynne Dunlay, Tram Anh Nguyen, Minh Ngo, Bryna Somers, Lindsey Tieden

Milford: Kyle Ruble

Perry: Chris Konradi

Tripoli: Ann Schwemm

Waterloo: Mary Claassen

West Des Moines: Rebecca Baker


Cary: Christopher Frosaker

Sparland: Andrew Dorsey

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,