Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Oct. 20, 2006

UI Medical Students Named To Gold Humanism Honor Society

Twenty-two students in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine have been selected for membership in the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The inductees are Mari Asper, Toni Biskup, Sarah Bronner, Abby Christian, Nathan Funk, Katie Gimbel, Shinkai Hakimi, Stephanie Hunstad, Elizabeth King, Lisa Lavadie-Gomez, Dan Leary, Justin Leitch, Ryan Murray, Terri Nordin, Andrew Oldroyd, Carlos Reyes, Miran Rhee, Ashley Sens, Sally Simons, Timothy Van Gelder, Zachary Washburn and Sara Wood.

Established in 2001 by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the Gold Humanism Honor Society recognizes fourth-year medical students who have demonstrated exemplary attitudes and behaviors characteristic of the most humanistic physicians. The society was an outgrowth for the Gold Foundation's objective to foster humanism in medicine in the education and training of physicians. Through grants and contributions, the Gold Foundation has created and supported curricular programs, conferences, ceremonies and awards to infuse humanism throughout the culture of academic medicine.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032, Writer: Krystal Loewe