Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Nov. 6, 2006

Tippie Award To Recognize Pella Leadership Team

The leadership team at the Pella-based window and door manufacturer Pella Corp., led by president and CEO Mel Haught, will receive the Oscar Schmidt Iowa Business Leadership Award from the University of Iowa's Tippie College of Business on Thursday, Nov. 9.

The recognition ceremonies will be held in the Second Floor Ballroom of the Iowa Memorial Union during a dinner starting at 7 p.m.

"While the popular media has been focusing on scandals in the world of business, it's refreshing to recognize a company with a stellar reputation like Pella," said William C. "Curt" Hunter, dean of the Tippie College of Business. "Mel Haught's decision to have the Leadership Team of the company receive this award, rather than himself, is an example of how effective leaders value their teams. This commitment to quality has helped Pella Corp. become an industry leader and is the type of example we want to highlight to our students."

Pella Corp. was founded in 1925 as the Rolscreen Company and today is recognized as one of the world's leading manufacturers of premium-quality windows and doors. It changed its name to Pella Corp. in 1992 to better reflect its product line.

Headquartered in Pella, Iowa, the company is committed to incorporating new technologies, streamlining processes, and increasing productivity at manufacturing operations, sales outlets, and corporate offices in its quest to create satisfied customers. Pella Corporation holds more than 100 product and design patents and manufactures its products in Iowa, Illinois, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Oregon, Arizona, and Ohio.

For seven consecutive years, Pella has been honored by Fortune magazine as one of the nation's "100 Best Companies to Work For." The recognition notes that Pella provides exceptional benefits, development opportunities and a quality work environment for its more than 9,000 team members. Pella Corp. is among a limited number of manufacturers and one of two Iowa companies to be included on Fortune's list. Pella Corp. also embraces Lean manufacturing principles throughout the organization, encourages employees to contribute to their communities through volunteerism and promotes the "Character Counts!" program in schools.

Haught joined Pella Corp. in 1991 as vice president of manufacturing and assumed the role of senior vice president of operations in 1996 when he became responsible for all manufacturing and engineering functions. He was appointed to serve on Pella Corp.'s Board of Directors in May 1999. In 2000, he was appointed to the position of executive vice president and Pella Division president and chief operating officer. In 2002, he was named president and chief operating officer of Pella Corp., a position he held until he was named president and CEO later that year.

Before joining Pella, Haught worked for General Motors' Packard Electric Division and for Molex Inc. He also taught school for a year after graduating in 1968 from Youngstown State University with a degree in education.

A 2002 graduate of the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School, Haught currently serves on the board of Hollister Incorporated, a health care products company headquartered in Libertyville, Ill. He is a past board member of the Iowa Association of Business and Industry and Heartland Rail Inc. Haught is also a past corporate chair of the Greater Iowa Walk to Cure Diabetes. Pella Corp. team members have raised more than $1 million in three years to benefit the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF). He currently serves on the Pella Regional Health Center Board, the Policy Advisory Board Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies, the Iowa Business Council, and is a member of the Henry B. Tippie College of Business Board of Visitors at the University of Iowa.

The Iowa Business Leadership Award was established by the late C. Oscar Schmidt, president of the Cincinnati Butchers' Supply Company, who wanted to honor his father by recognizing an outstanding Iowa business executive. His intention was both to honor an outstanding business leader and to provide a vehicle by which the students and faculty of the College could interact with successful career men and women. The award recognizes outstanding performance in the world of commerce in the belief that business leadership is essential to the economic progress of Iowa and the nation.

Past recipients of the Oscar C. Schmidt Iowa Business Leadership Award, first given in 1980, include: Tom Bedell, president and chairman of the board of Pure Fishing; Marjorie M. Scardino, chief executive of Pearson plc; William T. Kerr, chairman and chief executive officer of Meredith Corporation; and John Pappajohn, president of Equity Dynamics, Inc.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,