Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Nov. 2, 2006

Composers Workshop At UI Presents Student Works Nov. 12

The Composers Workshop from the University of Iowa School of Music will present a concert of new student works at 8 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 12, in Clapp Recital Hall on the UI campus. The concert will be free and open to the public.

The Composers Workshop is a collaborative project between composers and performers in the UI School of Music. It is devoted to the performance of music written at the UI and aims to foster greater co-operation and interplay between composers and performers in the Iowa City area.

The workshop is directed by David Gompper, professor of music in the theory and composition department of the School of Music and director of the Center for New Music.

The program features new works by eight composers from three degree programs in music composition: Ph.D., master's and bachelor's degrees. There are three works for voice, five works for chamber ensemble and a total of 29 performers and conductors will participate in the concert, with several performing in more than one work.

Brian Vlasak, graduate teaching assistant in the Composers Workshop and one of the composers on the program, said, "Make it a point to come and support live, local music -- we have a great diversity in musical styles and excellent performers bringing our works to life."

Works on the program will be:

--"Aerial" for piano by Israel Neuman.

--"Out of the Shadows" for solo piano by George Marie.

--"Where's Waldo?" for string quartet by Brian Lenth;

--"Yugure," a setting of text by the 14th-century Japanese monk Ryosen for vocal octet by Patrick Fitzgibbon.

--Three Movements for Piano Trio by T.A. Davis.

--"Ozymandias," a setting of a text by Percy Bysshe Shelley for baritone and chamber ensemble by John Griffin.

--"Written in Disgust of Vulgar Superstition," a setting of a text by John Keats for soprano, glockenspiel and chimes, by Kirsten Wallace.

--Piano Quartet by Vlasak.

The School of Music is part of the Division of Performing Arts in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. You may visit the UI School of Music Web site at

For information on UI arts events, visit on the World Wide Web. You may visit the UI School of Music web site at To receive UI arts news by e-mail, go to, click the link "Join or leave the list (or change settings)" and follow the instructions.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Arts Center Relations, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Peter Alexander, 319-384-0072; cell: 319-541-2846;