The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 23, 2006

Currie, Farris Elected To Iowa Pharmacy Association Posts

Two University of Iowa College of Pharmacy faculty members were among eight pharmacists recently elected to officer and trustee positions with the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) for its 2006-2007 administrative year.

Jay Currie, Pharm.D., clinical professor, was named president-elect, and Karen Farris, Ph.D., associate professor, was named a trustee at-large.

Currie is associate head of the UI College of Pharmacy's Division of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy and directs the college's professional experience program, with responsibility for introductory and advanced practice experiences, the community pharmaceutical care rotation and the community care pharmacy practice residency program.

He received his bachelor's and doctor of pharmacy degrees at the UI in 1980 and 1984, respectively. Currie began his professional career as a staff and long-term care consultant pharmacist at Claxton Pharmacy in Cedar Rapids. He subsequently practiced as the clinical pharmacist at the Mechanicsville Pioneer Medical Center and later at the Family Practice Center in Cedar Rapids. He began work implementing pharmaceutical care practice in 1991.

Currie is a founding faculty member of the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care and has worked extensively with pharmacists in converting their practice sites. He has received the IPA Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award for his work, and he has presented educational sessions and posters at IPA meetings on numerous occasions. Currie completed a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Primary Health Care Policy Fellowship, and he served on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' State Pharmaceutical Assistance Transition Commission. He was the speaker of the IPA House of Delegates in 2005.

Farris is assistant head of postgraduate education in the college's Division of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy, and she is chair of the college's assessment committee.

She is a pharmacy services researcher, using social theories to study the roles of community pharmacists, how pharmacists can influence medication use and how older adults manage their medications. She has published numerous research and professional articles and book chapters, and she frequently publishes with pharmacy students who are completing research under her direction. She is currently co-editing a series of papers with colleagues from Australia and Spain in the Annals of Pharmacotherapy focused on pharmaceutical care in community pharmacies from around the world.

Farris is actively involved in the college's graduate program for pharmaceutical socioeconomics and in the community care pharmacy practice residency program, assisting graduate students and residents with all aspects of their training and research projects.

She received her bachelor-of-science degree in pharmacy from the University of Tennessee, Memphis and her doctorate from the University of Michigan. In addition to the IPA, Farris also is a member of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). She has been actively involved with IPA, serving as chair of the IPA policy committee on public affairs and as a member of the IPA House of Delegates. She has partnered with IPA, Outcomes Pharmaceutical Health Care and Iowa Priority to evaluate pharmacy services in Iowa. She was the corresponding author of the "Best Published Paper" in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, receiving the AACP Lyman Award in 2005, and she was named a Fellow in the American Pharmacists Association in 2006.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,