The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 6, 2006

Business Student Organizations Honored for Achievements

This spring, student organizations in the Tippie College of Business were recognized for their accomplishments in leadership, professional development and community service.

Students and staff in the Tippie College Undergraduate Program Office presented the third annual Tippie Student Organization Awards April 27 at the Iowa City Sheraton Hotel. The Principal Financial Group sponsored the event; Iowa football Coach Kirk Ferentz was the keynote speaker, and Loraine Hardin, vice president of insured medical products with the Principal Financial Group, gave the welcome.

I-Envision, the Tippie College entrepreneurship organization won four awards, including Program of the Year. I-Envision worked with students from four schools and community outreach centers in Iowa City, teaching them entrepreneurship and basic business concepts.

I-Envision also won the Best Fundraiser Award for the David Hensley Charity Golf Invitational, which raised $2,400 for Uptown Bill's Small Mall. The club generated $10,000 in cash and in-kind donations for the event, which drew 135 participants. I-Envision was also honored as Community Service Program of the Year for its work with the Extend the Dream Foundation, a non-profit organization affiliated with Uptown Bill's that provides training, mentoring and ongoing assistance for adults with disabilities to become self-employed in e-commerce. Participants and student mentors meet on a weekly basis to receive on-going training and support for their eCommerce business initiative.

The student entrepreneurs were also co-winners of the Best Student Organization of the Year Award. In addition to their community service work with Uptown Bills and the educational programs with Iowa City schools, I-Envision was recognized for providing professional resources and development opportunities for more than 130 club members by conducting multiple professional luncheons, a speaker series and conference opportunities.

Delta Sigma Pi was also a co-winner of the Student Organization of the Year Award. This organization develops students' professional skills, provides service to the community, and prepares members for the business world.  Its members are developed into leaders through resume workshops, private career fairs, professional speakers, etiquette dinners, and professional trips to meet with companies throughout the Midwest.  Delta Sigma Pi is the only student organization that is a member of the Iowa City Chamber of Commerce.  The group honors one faculty member and one teaching assistant each month for his or her outstanding dedication, and sponsors a faculty and staff appreciation luncheon each semester.  This group is dedicated to serving the community, and members participate in more than 40 volunteer events each semester.  

Delta Sigma Pi also won the Best Recruitment of the Year Award for developing a system to recruit and evaluate prospective members from a massive advertising blitz.  It hosted educational events and conducted exhaustive evaluations of prospective members.

Additional student organization award winners included Business and Technology Association (BTA), for Website of the Year. The club's portal won the first place award at the Association of Information Technology Professional's (AITP) National Collegiate Conference March 30 to April 1 in Dallas, Texas. All BTA members have access to exclusive members sections of the site, technical resources, job information and a member forum for exchanging ideas with other students.

The Speaker Series of the Year Award went to Phi Beta Lambda, a service organization that combines business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs. Phi Beta Lambda had 11 events planned for their speaker series and brought in presenters who ranged from faculty, staff, students and community leaders.

Two Tippie College faculty were honored by student organizations. For the second year, Kenneth G. Brown, associate professor of Management and Organizations and Huneke Faculty Research Fellow was named Students' Choice for Faculty Member of the Year, chosen by the Undergraduate Leadership Council for his hard work and dedication to student success.

Joyce Berg, faculty advisor to Beta Alpha Psi, the Tippie College accounting fraternity, received the Faculty Advisor of the Year Award. In her first year as advisor, Berg encouraged Beta Alpha Psi members to increase their professional development and community service activities and helped the organization reach its goal of "Superior" status recognition at the national level again this year.

Some organizations named their member of the year, honoring their leaders who excelled and motivated by example. The recipients were:

--Alpha Kappa Psi: Molly Carpenter

--Beta Alpha Psi: Bradford Hepfer

--Business Student Ambassadors: Tom Niblock

--Business Technology Association: Colin Stamler

--Delta Sigma Pi: Ryan Lindsley

--Economics Forum: Jeff Lipes

--Financial Management Association: Kyle Wagner

--I-Envision: Students in Free Enterprise: Christopher Maestranzi

--Leadership Council: Nate Whited

--Phi Beta Lambda: Steven Puffer

--Society for Human Resources Management: Janie Thompson

--Tippie Optimist Chapter: Mark Sandvig

--Toastmasters: Julie Kimm

--Women in Business: Oun Platt

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Media: George McCrory, 319-384-0012,; Program: Amy Bartachek, Tippie College Undergraduate Program Office, 319-335-1037