The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 2, 2006

Six Engineering Faculty, Staff Receive Excellence Awards

Six University of Iowa faculty and staff recently received College of Engineering Excellence Awards for their individual contributions to research, teaching, service and research staff excellence.

The six, honored by Dean P. Barry Butler at the College's annual faculty/staff recognition luncheon on May 1, are: Edwin L. Dove, Faculty Excellence Award for Service; Krishnan B. Chandran, Faculty Excellence Award for Research; Er-Wei Bai and John M. Wiencek, Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching; Chris Coretsopoulos, Collegiate Staff Research Award; and Rebecca Rowe, Mary Sheedy Staff Excellence Award.

Dove, who joined the college in 1985, is associate professor of biomedical engineering and has research interests in premature infant care, medical image processing and mathematical modeling of physiological processes. He is also an active member of Habitat for Humanity.

Chandran, who joined the UI faculty in 1978, is Lowell G. Battershell Chair of Biomedical Engineering, professor and departmental executive officer of biomedical engineering, and faculty research engineer at IIHR - Hydroscience & Engineering. An international leader in bio-fluid dynamics with application to the human cardiovascular system, he has additional research interests in vascular prosthesis and artificial heart valve dynamics, and fluid dynamics and atherosclerosis.

Wiencek, who joined the college in 1995, is professor and departmental executive officer of chemical and biochemical engineering. Among his many activities, he has developed the Program for Enhanced Design Experience (PEDE) to new levels of excellence. The PEDE program allows students to work with industry on design projects while studying on campus.

Bai, who joined the college in 1987, is professor of electrical and computer engineering. He has taught courses at all levels within the undergraduate and graduate curriculum, chaired the College Teaching Committee in 1999-2000, contributed to both the undergraduate and graduate curriculum committees, maintained an open-door policy for students, and involved
undergraduates in his research.

Coretsopoulos, adjunct associate professor of chemical and biochemical engineering and director of the Microfabrication Center, joined the UI faculty in 2000.

Rowe, administrative assistant to the dean, joined the College of Engineering in 1982. This is the first year the Mary Sheedy Staff Excellence Award has been given. The award is presented to an Engineering staff member who provides outstanding service to the College of Engineering, has a positive attitude that impacts and improves the work atmosphere within the college, leaves a lasting impression with the college and its constituents, and demonstrates a commitment to the college and its mission.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,