The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 23, 2006

UI College Of Pharmacy Faculty, Students, Alumni Honored By IPA

University of Iowa College of Pharmacy faculty members, alumni and students were honored at the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) annual meeting, held June 9-11 in Cedar Rapids.

Sue Purcell, a 1974 UI pharmacy graduate and an adjunct instructor in the college, was inducted as the 2006-2007 IPA president.

Jay Currie, UI clinical professor, was inducted as the 2006-2007 president-elect and Karen Farris, UI associate professor, was inducted to the IPA board as a trustee-at-large (a May 23 news release is available at

Thomas Johnsrud, a 1966 graduate of the college, won the Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award, presented to a pharmacist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession of pharmacy and the IPA.

Lloyd Matheson, emeritus associate professor in the college, was named honorary president of the IPA to recognize his lengthy and sustained commitment of support for the IPA and the profession of pharmacy.

The Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award was given to James Wallace, a 1980 graduate of the college. This award is presented to a health-system pharmacist for service to the profession, the entire health care team and to the community.

UI College of Pharmacy student Danielle Ficke was honored with the Karbeling Leadership Award. This award recognizes a student for individual leadership and involvement in professional organizations and the political process.

The IPA's Best Poster Award went to a UI College of Pharmacy research team including Yifei Liu, Randal McDonough, William Doucette, Xiaoyun Pan and Kathleen Miller. The group's poster was titled, "Assessing Risk of Cardiovascular Disease for Union Workers and Their Dependents: Results of A Pharmacist-Managed Health Screening Program."

A total of 21 faculty and 17 students attended the entire conference, which began June 9 with a scholarship fundraising golf tournament in Shellsburg, Iowa.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

CONTACTS: Media: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,; Writer: Andrea Schreiber