The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 21, 2006

Students Initiated Into Pi Lambda Theta Education Honor Society

(NAME OF PERSON) of (HOMETOWN) was recently initiated into the Theta Chapter of the Pi Lambda Theta International Honor Society and Professional Association at the University of Iowa.

He/She and other UI students were accepted into the education honorary organization during a special ceremony May 6 in Iowa City.

Members of the organization, which was founded in 1910, include teachers, administrators and others involved in some aspect of education, including undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in education. Students must have a 3.5 grade point average to be considered for membership.

In addition to providing people within the education field an opportunity to network, Pi Lambda Theta provides members access to a career services Web site, publishes a journal called Educational Horizons and conducts meetings three times a year, each with an educational focus. The society also presents scholarships to students pursuing undergraduate and graduate degrees.

EDITORS: Initiates are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa students listed first. In some instances, students' names may appear under two hometowns to reflect their temporary and permanent residences.


Bettendorf: Megan Mintle

Cascade: Michelle (Donovan) Hascall

Cedar Rapids: Erin Evan-Schwartz

Davenport: Scott Moore

Denison: Seth McGrane

Iowa City: Lauren James

Iowa City: Yi-Lung Kuo

Keosauqua: Amanda Manning

Mount Vernon: Anita M. Martin

North Liberty: Carrie Hegenderfer

Riverside: Jayme Kallaus

Solon: Cheryl J. Poduska

Williamsburg: Jennifer Williams

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Stephen J. Pradarelli, 319-384-0007,