The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

July 14, 2006

Fourteen Staff Members Receive UI Excellence Awards

Fourteen staff members at the University of Iowa are recipients of one of three annual staff awards for excellence presented by UI Staff Council.

The 2006 David J. Skorton Staff Excellence Award for Public Service is given annually to individuals who have made significant contributions and have shown "exceptional imagination and dedication to improving the university community." Service must include activities of high quality in staff governance, committee work, policy improvement, program creation, etc. and must be outside normal job responsibilities. The winners will be recognized at a university event this fall and will receive $500 and a commemorative gift. The award was given to the following individuals.

--Margaret "Maggie" Jesse (left), director of Stead Technology Services Group in the Henry B. Tippie College of Business.

--John Streif (right), assistant athletic trainer and travel coordinator for the Department of Athletics.

Six Board of Regents Staff Excellence Awards were given to University of Iowa staff members for outstanding accomplishments and contributions to their institutions as well as to the state of Iowa. Established in 1993, the award was created to provide a statewide forum to recognize staff members in conjunction with colleagues from the other Board of Regents institutions. Their accomplishments have significantly benefited the University of Iowa, brought honor or recognition to the university and had a significant positive impact on the state of Iowa. Each winner receives a commemorative gift, and the university grants a $1,000 prize to the winner's department to be used for his/her benefit. The 2006 award winners are:

--Stanton Berberich (left), newborn screening program manager for the University Hygienic Laboratory.

--Marlys Dunphy (right), research assistant for the Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry, College of Dentistry.


--Diane Finnerty (left), director of cultural competence initiatives for the National Resource Center for Family-Centered Practice.

--Molly Langstaff (right), director of the Department of Academic Technologies for Information Technology Services.


--Marcia Valbracht (left), newborn screening laboratory supervisor for the University Hygienic Laboratory.

--David Wynes (right), senior associate vice president for research for the Office of the Vice President for Research.

Six additional staff members were awarded the University of Iowa Outstanding Staff Award. The award winners were recognized for "outstanding accomplishments and contributions that significantly benefited or brought honor or recognition to the university." All recipients will be recognized at a university event in the fall. In addition, Staff Council will present a commemorative gift to each awardee at a departmental event held in honor of the winner.

The 2006 award winners are:

--Maureen Burke (left), coordinator for the English as a Second Language (ESL) program, Department of Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

--JoAnn Castagna, assistant to the dean for special projects for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

--Charlene Elbert (right), assistant laboratory manager for the DeGowin Blood Center.

--Ann Madden Rice (left), associate director and chief operating officer for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

--Jean Ryan (right), pediatric dietician for the Department of Food and Nutrition Services, Children's Hospital of Iowa.


--Linda Wheatley (left), secretary III for the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, College of Engineering.


STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Lesly Huffman, 319-384-0077, or Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,

PHOTOS/GRAPHICS: For high-resolution photographs, contact Debb Thumma 319-384-0070 or e-mail: