The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Jan. 26, 2006

Skorton Releases Sexual Harassment Study

University of Iowa President David Skorton today released the most recent report to examine the campus climate regarding issues of personal safety and freedom from harassment and assault.

The report is a follow-up to an earlier study administered by the Council on the Status of Women (CSW) in 1992, the results of which were released in 1993. For this current report, the CSW surveyed in 2004 more than 11,000 University of Iowa students, faculty, staff and other community members on issues of unwelcomed behavior. The council's report, "Sexual Harassment and Unwelcomed Behavior At the University of Iowa," includes ten recommendations for making the university a more welcoming place.

The full text of the report can be found online at

"I am grateful to the Council on the Status of Women for this authoritative and detailed follow-up to their 1993 survey," Skorton said. "The results show us how far we have come in the past decade, and how much further we still have to go."

"As I have done with other committee reports, I am releasing the report now so that the entire university community can review it and share their responses with the committee and the administration," Skorton said. "I am committed to addressing the issues identified in the report and will share a plan of action with the campus community by the end of February."

Deborah Hampton, a secretary in the Department of CAD-research Engineering, and Nancy Hauserman, associate dean in the Tippie College of Business, chaired the CSW's Sexual Harassment Study Sub-committee that compiled the report. Other sub-committee members included: Lee Anna Clark, professor of psychology; Dottie Persson, librarian; Carlette Washington-Hoagland, librarian; Susan Beckett, systems administrator, Engineering Computer Network; Jean Jew, professor of anatomy; Laurie Croft, program associate in College of Education; Linda Murray, secretary in the Carver College of Medicine; Lindsey Reighard of the Department of Finance; Karen Siler of the Office of Student Services; Barbara Spence, administrative specialist in Microbiology; Charlotte Westerhaus, director of the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, replaced by Jennifer Modestou, interim director.

Ex Officio members of the committee were Karla Miller, director of the Rape Victim Advocacy Program; Monique DiCarlo, director of the Women's Resource and Action Center; and Peter Hubbard, senior assistant director, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Steve Parrott, 319-335-0552,; Writer: Tom Snee