Screen readers: Two navigational links to follow.Skip to site navigation.Skip to page content.
The University of Iowa News Services
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release


Dec. 29, 2006

UI Army ROTC Wins Championship

The University of Iowa's Army Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) Ranger Challenge team, competing against 17 other Ranger Challenge teams from 10 other major Midwestern Universities, won the Ranger Challenge championship during fall 2006.

The "I-Team" is composed of nine sophomore, junior and senior cadets, as well as three freshman alternates. Team members attend the UI with the goal of receiving a commission in the U.S. Army upon graduation. The I-Team's cadet commander is Tadashi Abe, a senior pre-med major, and his executive officer is Lindsay Larson, a senior nursing major. The team's two leaders are business students Ken Wall, a senior, and Ron Mortenson, a sophomore. The I-Team's average GPA is above a 3.3 and its cumulative fitness level well exceeds the Army's physical fitness standards, according to Ranger Challenge Head Coach Maj. Dave Pinter.

The competition, which was held the last weekend in October at Camp Dodge, Iowa, is the toughest of its kind in the Midwest and is commonly called "the 15 hours of pain," according to Maj. Pinter. Similar to adventure racing, the competition requires that all nine cadets compete in eight different team events in which they are graded on speed and accuracy. The eight events include: the Army Physical Fitness Test (APFT), rifle marksmanship, one-rope bridge, hand grenade assault course, orienteering, weapons assembly and disassembly, patrolling, and 10-kilometer road march in battle dress uniform and gear. The team greatly appreciated the support provided by the Corps of Cadets, Cadre, friends and family that helped make the championship a reality.

The team coach, participants and alternates are listed below by hometown, with Iowa listed first:



Maj. David Pinter


Andrew Whelchel


Ron Mortenson

Iowa City

Pace Jaworski, alternate


Lindsay Larson


Justine Nixon, alternate

Sioux City

Tadashi Abe


Dillon Kiefer

West Des Moines

Mike Stevenson

West Des Moines

Jason Falk, alternate


Buffalo Grove

Craig Robbins

Orland Park

Ken Wall

Rock Island

Ryan Anderson

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,