The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Aug. 10, 2006

Halverson To Receive I-CASH Hall Of Fame Award

Iowa's Center for Agricultural Safety and Health (I-CASH) has named Charlotte Halverson of Dubuque, Iowa the 2006 recipient of its Agricultural Safety and Health Hall of Fame Award.

Halverson is a highly trained and skilled occupational health nurse who has served the farming community for more than 25 years. She is the rural health training coordinator at the National Educational Center for Agricultural Safety and Rural Health and parish health coordinator at Mercy Medical Center-Dubuque.

Halverson will receive the award Aug. 11 during the WOI midday radio show being broadcast from the Iowa State University Extension booth, located in the 4-H Building at the Iowa State Fair in Des Moines. The award will be presented by state Sen. Robert Dvorsky of Coralville.

Halverson is known both in Iowa and throughout the country as a pioneer in the fields of agricultural health and parish health nursing. In 1998, she received the Farm Bureau Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award. She is actively involved with more than 10 professional organizations such as the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses and the National Rural Health Association. She is an instrumental leader in bringing national attention to the unique field of agricultural health and safety.

At the local level, Halverson's contribution to the field of agricultural health and safety is diverse and includes activities such as providing certified safe farm services to area farmers; implementing screening programs to prevent skin cancer, hearing loss, and respiratory disease; and developing farm safety first-aid kits specifically designed for farmers. By building partnerships with Iowa Farm Bureau Foundation, Mercy Medical Center-Dubuque and Mercy Health Network, Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., and Key West True Value Hardware, Halverson spearheaded the distribution of 15,000 farm safety kits.

Halverson was recently appointed president of the AgriSafe Network Board of Directors. Her leadership and commitment has helped the AgriSafe Network grow to over 22 rural health clinics providing health and safety services to area farmers.

I-CASH created the Hall of Fame Award in 2002 as a lifetime achievement award for individuals or organizations that have made significant and lasting contributions to agricultural safety and health in Iowa. Halverson joins past award winners L.W. (Pete) Knapp, Ph.D., University of Iowa professor emeritus; Marilyn Adams, founder and president of Farm Safety 4 Just Kids; Carolyn Sheridan, clinical director of AgriSafe Network, Inc.; and Charles Schwab, Ph.D., and Janis Stone, Ph.D., Iowa State University professors.

Based in the University of Iowa College of Public Health, I-CASH is a joint venture of the UI, ISU, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032, I-CASH CONTACT: Eileen Fisher, 319-335-4224,

home | releases | media clips | news digest | staff | about