The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Aug. 8, 2006

UI Physicians Listed Among 'Best Doctors In America'

One hundred eighty-eight University of Iowa physicians have been selected for inclusion in the 2006 "Best Doctors in America" database.

"Best Doctors" is a Web-based resource that links consumers with expert medical care.

The selected physicians are all members of University of Iowa Physicians, the faculty group practice of the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine that provides clinical services at UI Hospitals and Clinics and Children's Hospital of Iowa.

The UI physicians listed by "Best Doctors" comprise over one-third of the approximately 500 physicians from Iowa listed in the national database, which includes physicians from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The 188 selected physicians, from 36 medical specialties, represent a notable increase over the 150 physicians included in last year's database.

The "Best Doctors" database results from peer review surveys undertaken by Best Doctors Inc., a provider of information about the best medical care available.

To compile the database, more than 35,000 doctors throughout the United States were asked to rate the clinical abilities of other doctors in their areas of specialization. Only physicians who earned the consensus support of their peers were included.

"Best Doctors" uses its database to support services that link individuals with serious illness to expert medical specialists for second opinions or treatment. The company says all doctors are checked for licensing and certification requirements and for any disqualifying disciplinary actions.

The company's Web site is

The database includes the following members of UI Physicians (some of who are listed under more than one specialty):

ALLERGY AND IMMUNOLOGY: Richard C. Ahrens (pediatric specialist); Zuhair K. Ballas; Miles M. Weinberger (pediatric specialist)

ANESTHESIA: Andre Boezaart; Timothy J. Brennan; Javier Campos; J. Steven Hata; Bradley J. Hindman; Richard Rosenquist; Michael M. Todd

CARDIOVASCULAR DISEASE: Richard E. Kerber; Michael G. Kienzle; James Martins; Brian Olshansky; James D. Rossen


DERMATOLOGY: Christopher Arpey; Kathi C. Madison; Thomas L. Ray; Mary S. Stone


FAMILY MEDICINE: David Bedell; George R. Bergus; Richard C. Dobyns; John W. Ely; Jill Endres; Paul A. James; Barcey T. Levy; Kelly S. Skelly; Jason Wilbur

GASTROENTEROLOGY: Frederick C. Johlin; Satish Rao; Robert W. Summers

GERIATRIC MEDICINE: Richard Dobyns; Margo Schilling


INFECTIOUS DISEASE: Peter Densen; Charles M. Helms; Loreen A. Herwaldt; David J. Kusner; William M. Nauseef

INTERNAL MEDICINE, GENERAL: Zuhair K. Ballas; Mary G. Beck; Peter Densen; John F. Fieselmann; James R. Flanagan; Christopher Goerdt; Richard LeBlond; Paul Mulhausen

MEDICAL ONCOLOGY AND HEMATOLOGY: Thomas L. Carlisle; Gerald H. Clamon

NEPHROLOGY: Lawrence G. Hunsicker; Christie P. Thomas

NEUROLOGICAL SURGERY: Mark Granner; Patrick W. Hitchon; Matthew Howard; Arnold H. Menezes (pediatric specialist); Timothy Ryken; Vincent C. Traynelis

NEUROLOGY: Harold P. Adams, Jr.; Mark E. Dyken; Lynne Geweke; Henry L. Paulson; Robert L. Rodnitzky; William T. Talman Jr.; Jon M. Tippin; Ergun Uc; Michael Wall

NEUROLOGY, CHILD: Katherine D. Mathews

NUCLEAR MEDICINE: David L. Bushnell; Michael M. Graham; Daniel Kahn; Yusef Menda

OBSTETRICS AND GYNECOLOGY: William A. Davis; Anuja Dokras-Jagasia; Susan Johnson; Jennifer R. Niebyl; Craig Syrop; Bradley Van Voorhis; Jerome (Jerry) Yankowitz

OPHTHALMOLOGY: Wallace L. M. Alward; H. Culver Boldt; Keith D. Carter; Karen M. Gehrs; Kenneth M. Goins; Randy H. Kardon; Ronald V. Keech (pediatric specialist); Andrew G. Lee; Jeffrey A. Nerad; Stephen R. Russell; Edwin M. Stone; John E. Sutphin Jr.; Thomas A. Weingeist

ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY: Annunziato Amendola; Joseph A. Buckwalter IV; John J. Callaghan; Charles R. Clark; Frederick R. Dietz; James Nepola; Ignacio V. Ponseti (emeritus/pediatric specialist); Stuart L. Weinstein (pediatric specialist)

OTOLARYNGOLOGY: John W. Canady; Gerry F. Funk; Bruce J. Gantz; Scott Graham; Marlan R. Hansen; Henry T. Hoffman; Richard J. H. Smith (pediatric specialist); Russell B. Smith

PATHOLOGY: Jo Ann Benda; Michael B. Cohen; Barry R. De Young; Frank A. Mitros; Robert A. Robinson

PEDIATRICS, GENERAL: Claibourne I. Dungy; Lois Dusdieker; Mary S. Larew; Ellen A. Link; Vera Loening-Baucke; Jody R. Murph; Shannon J. Sullivan; Jerold Woodhead

PEDIATRIC SPECIALIST: Michael J. Acarregui; Richard C. Ahrens; Michael Artman; Dianne L. Atkins; Edward F. Bell; Warren P. Bishop; John Dagle; Patricia A. Donohoue; Thomas E. Fagan; Caroline George; Thomas George; Frederick D. Goldman; Charles F. Grose; Herman Hein; Jonathan M. Klein; Ian H. Law; Larry T. Mahoney; Paul B. McCray Jr.; Frank H. Morriss; Mary J. H. Morriss; Jeffrey C. Murray; Craig C. Porter; Jean E. Robillard; Thomas D. Scholz; Jeffrey Segar; Jeffrey Smith; Timothy Starner; Shannon J. Sullivan; Raymond Tannous; Eva Tsalikian; Miles M. Weinberger; John A. Widness; Ekhard E. Ziegler


PSYCHIATRY: Arnold E. Andersen; Donald W. Black; Brian L. Cook; William Coryell; Raymond R. Crowe; Tracy D. Gunter; Jerry L. Lewis; Delwyn D. Miller; Peggy C. Nopoulos; Bruce M. Pfohl; Robert G. Robinson; Susan K. Schultz

PULMONARY AND CRITICAL CARE MEDICINE: John F. Fieselmann; Gary W. Hunninghake; Jeffrey S. Wilson

RADIATION ONCOLOGY: John M. Buatti; Geraldine Jacobsen; Min Yao

RADIOLOGY: Bruce P. Brown; John C. Chaloupka; George Y. El-Khoury; Laurie L. Fajardo; E. A. Franken Jr.; Yutaka Sato (pediatric specialist); Wendy Smoke

RHEUMATOLOGY: Robert F. Ashman; George V. Lawry II; Scott Vogelgesang


SURGERY: Jamal Hoballah; Gerald P. Kealey; John P. Lawrence (pediatric specialist); Carol E. H. Scott-Conner; Russell B. Smith; William J. Sharp; Ronald J. Weigel

SURGICAL ONCOLOGY: Carol E. H. Scott-Conner

THORACIC SURGERY: Wayne E. Richenbacher, Timothy A. Thomsen

UROLOGY: Bernard Fallon; Karl J. Kreder; Richard D. Williams; Howard N. Winfield

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: Joint Office for Marketing and Communications, University of Iowa Health Care, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room E110 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Moore, 319-356-3945,

Writer: Mike Sondergard.