The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Aug. 7, 2006

UI College Of Pharmacy Faculty, Preceptors Honored

Three faculty members and six preceptors in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy have been honored for outstanding teaching during the 2005-2006 academic year.

Aliasger Salem, Ph.D., assistant professor of pharmaceutics, was named Teacher of the Year by first-year pharmacy students. Michael Ernst, Pharm.D., clinical associate professor in clinical and administrative pharmacy, was named Teacher of the Year by second-year pharmacy students; and Karen Farris, Ph.D., associate professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy, was honored as Teacher of the Year by the college's third-year students. Jeffrey Reist, clinical instructor, was named Collegiate Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year awards are based on nominations by students and are selected by a faculty committee comprised of the previous year's award recipients.

Preceptor of the Year awards were given to Ruth Clark, Amy Jackson, Lisa Tortora and Alan Shepley of Shepley Pharmacy in Mt. Vernon; Mark Jones of the Genesis Family Medicine Program in Davenport; and Gary Milavetz, Pharm.D., associate professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy in the college.

The college's Professional Experiential Program and the Office of Academic Affairs selects the award winners, based on composite student evaluations of the preceptor and the teaching site.

Preceptors serve as mentors to the fourth-year pharmacy students during the students' clinical clerkships. The clerkships emphasize clinical pharmacy skill development and give students the opportunity to work closely with pharmacists in professional care settings.

The Teacher of the Year and Preceptor of the Year award winners will be honored at the college's fall scholarship reception in October.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,