The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 25, 2005

UI Medical Students Named To Gold Humanism Honor Society

Twenty-three students in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine have been selected for membership in the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The inductees are Ritu Bhatnagar, Kesha Buster, Angela Bymaster, Natalie Cac, Paul Carolan, Jennifer Carr, Rob Jackson, Leah Kasparek, Ian Kenning, Matt Lazio, Erin Lehman, Jeff Lynch, Andrea Miller, Nick Mohr, Mandy Olson, Rebecca Oswald, Greg Parker, Brie Romines, Megan Samuelson, Mary Sievers, Laurel Steinmetz, Jenarah Tekippe and Chris Wyatt.

Established in 2001 by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the Gold Humanism Honor Society recognizes fourth-year medical students who have demonstrated exemplary attitudes and behaviors characteristic of the most humanistic physicians. The society was an outgrowth for the Gold Foundation's objective to foster humanism in medicine in the education and training of physicians. Through grants and contributions, the Gold Foundation has created and supported curricular programs, conferences, ceremonies and awards to infuse humanism throughout the culture of academic medicine.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,