The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 25, 2005

UI Medical Students Inducted Into AOA Honor Society

Twenty-five students in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine were inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, at an initiation ceremony Oct. 20 in Iowa City.

The inductees are Angela Arlen, Luther Bartelt, Robert Bartelt, Paul Carolan, Jennifer Carr, Joseph Dolan, Leana Guerin, Mark Heller, Nicholas Hilpipre, Rob Jackson, Ashley Jones, Michael Keller, Sara Beth Kilborn, Victoria Moss, Nathan Nelms, Mandy Olson, Matthew Ough, Laila Payvandi, Chad Ringger, Sarah Tofilon, Jon Van Heukelom, Heather Wade, Lucas Wendel, Melissa Willenborg and Kristy Wolniak.

Founded in 1902, AOA promotes scholarship and research in medical schools and encourages a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and medical school graduates. In recognition of high attainment and excellence in medical science, practice and related fields, the society elects outstanding medical students, alumni and faculty members to its ranks.

AOA has 105 chapters at medical schools throughout the United States and Canada. The UI chapter, Alpha of Iowa, was established in 1920.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,