The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 19, 2005

Photos (from top): Marc P. Armstrong, professor, and David A. Bennett, associate professor, in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Department of Geography.

Armstrong And Bennett Receive UI Technology Innovation Award

Marc P. Armstrong, professor, and David A. Bennett, associate professor, in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Department of Geography have been presented with the 2005 UI President's Instructional Technology Innovation Award, which recognizes the most creative use of technology in teaching in the past year.

Armstrong and Bennett were honored Oct. 18 at the Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet for their work in the "development of a mobile, geographically based environment for learning." The award includes a $3,000 prize.

Armstrong and Bennett said that the goal of their technology application project is to bring "the classroom computer laboratory, library and internet into the field using existing and robust mobile computing technology." In creating their Mobile Geographic Education system, called "MoGeo," they integrated the use of global positioning systems (GPS), geographic information systems (GIS), wireless communication, handheld or tablet computers, and centralized computers working as servers.

Examples of non-classroom locations where MoGeo can provide students with such valuable information as real time data and online student discussions include museums, nature trails and other sites. In summary, Armstrong and Bennett were honored for creating an application that delivers educational material to a student when and where it is needed. Partial support for the MoGeo project was provided by the College of Liberal Arts and Science and the UI Academic Technologies Advisory Council.

A number of other awards for faculty and staff excellence in teaching, research and service were presented at the banquet. Award winners recognized for the first time at the banquet included those selected for the Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service, the May Brodbeck Humanities Fellowship Award, the Philip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education, and the Graduate College Outstanding Mentor Award.

Named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, president of Faculty Senate (1986-87), the Brody Award was established to recognize outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the community. This year's honorees are Elizabeth M. Altmaier, professor and interim chair of the College of Education's Department of Psychological and Quantitative Foundations; Lois K. Cox, clinical professor in the College of Law; and Kate E. Gfeller, director of the Music Therapy Program in the School of Music, with a secondary appointment in speech pathology and audiology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The May Brodbeck Humanities Fellowship Award honors Brodbeck, an internationally distinguished scholar of the philosophy of science who received her doctorate in philosophy from the UI in 1947 and returned to serve as Vice President for Academic Affairs. The fellowship was established to encourage and support the study of language, literature, philosophy, history, jurisprudence and humanistic aspects of the sciences. This year's recipient is William D. Davies, professor of linguistics in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The Philip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education is presented annually to a full professor with at least fifteen years experience at the university in recognition of outstanding teaching and commitment to curriculum and program development. The recipient is Eric Forsythe, professor of theatre arts in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The Graduate College Outstanding Mentor Award, presented annually to two graduate faculty, recognizes and rewards exemplary mentoring efforts. The recipients are Kathleen Diffley, associate professor of English in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Richard Shields, professor in the graduate program in physical therapy and rehabilitation science in the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine.

Previously announced awards that were presented at the awards banquet include those for outstanding staff, Staff Council Excellence in Service, Faculty Scholars, Global Scholars, President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence, President's Award for State Outreach and Public Engagement, and Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence and Staff Excellence.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,